Sopa de mexico

My love of soup has been well documented on this site, so it will come as no surprise that I couldn’t decided on just one variety to try this week. In the end two soups won my attention: Sopa De Lima (Lime Soup), and Creamy Chayote Soup.

Sopa De Lima

Lime in soup, sounds great to me! This soup is said to be a traditional dish of the Yuctan Peninsula, and a lot of ingredients go into the preparation, but it wasn’t as much work as it looks like. I used the ingredients of this recipe, however I didn’t put in as much effort as it suggests, being a weeknight.

I simply got the ingredients for the stock together (subbing stock powder for the chicken or turkey carcass in the recipe, and leaving out the lime by accident) and simmered them for 20 minutes. The cut in cooking time was due to not needing to cook any meat (hooray!).

I then strained it, and began to follow the recipe from that point. Unfortunately, that’s when our not-so-reliable internet connection cut out. Having turned of my computer (sometimes my computer is the problem, not the net), I had lost the site, and couldn’t retrieve it. Damn. So, looking at the ingredients on my chopping board, I guessed my way through.

The soup smelled, looked and tasted promising, all the way through. Until, that is, I made the tragic mistake of adding some lime slice (skin still on) while still simmering. Suddenly, the whole pot of soup took on the bitter flavour of failure (and lime rind). The soup looked brillian, smelled fantastic, but tasted so bad it was practically inedible. Even Mr could only manage a spoonful or two (and he can eat just about any vegan thing).

Luckily, I made both soups at once, in a frenzy of soup fanaticism, so we didn’t go hungry.

Looks great... will have to try again

Chayote Soup

As mentioned above, I only decided to make chayote soup because I didn’t know what a chayote was, and after a google image search realised I recognised it as one of the many fruits and vegetables I can’t identify at the Preston Market.

I didn’t know anything about chayote, but creamy soup always sounds good to me. The more I read, however, the more I became concerned. SusanV at FatFreeVeganKitchen said her child thought it was “yucky” and she herself said the flavour was “hard to describe” and “not for everyone”. Hannah commented on my menu post, wondering how choko could be made tasty. I was really starting to wonder now.

I searched for recipes, and finally settled on this one, although I adapted it somewhat, and I’ll share the changes below.

Given the way the Lime Soup turned out, I’m very glad to say that the Chayote soup was delicious. It was creamy and just  little spicy with a delicate flavour that, as SusanV said, is hard to describe. It saved the day though, and I’m so glad we tried it.

Creamy Chayote Soup, vegan style

Vegan Creamy Chayote Soup, serves 2

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups vegetable stock or equivalent stock powder and water
  • 1 large chayote, peeled and diced (keep the seed in)
  • 2 poblano peppers (I used canned, but you could sub cooked green peppers, capsicum, or chillies, depending on your spice tolerance) chopped finely.
  • 1 large chayote, peeled and diced (keep the seed in)
  • 2 poblano peppers (I used canned, but you could sub cooked green peppers, capsicum, or chillies, depending on your spice tolerance) chopped finely.
  • 3 tablespoons vegan cream cheese
  • salt, to taste
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  1. in a little oil, cook the onion until soft, then add the garlic and continue to cook for another 5 minutes.
  2. Add the chopped chayote and the stock. Bring to the boil. reduce heat to a simmer and cook for at least 20 minutes, until the chayote is tender.
  3. Remove from heat. Add poblano peppers, cream cheese and blend until smooth.
  4. Add salt and cayenne pepper to taste.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan adaptions

2 responses to “Sopa de mexico

  1. And you managed the impossible! ;) (Actually, I’ve never though choko tasted awful, just rather bland…) I love how simple this recipe is *and* that it serves two. I cook for just me at the moment, so I like not ending up with a squillion leftovers :) I do believe I’ll have to try this!

    • Thanks. Most of the recipes on this blog will feed three people, or one small person and one quite large person, which is what our household contains. I’ll try to note the serving sizes more often :)

Leave a Reply

