Mezze Hooray!

No recipes today because I followed all the directions exactly. Feel free to click the links if you like what you see :)

 

The Imam Fainted

Eggplant stuffed with onion, garlic and tomato. There is a lot of hype about this dish, and the story goes that one Imam loved the dish so much that he fainted, either because he liked it so much, or because he heard they had run out of the oil to make it. I liked it, but I’m not sure I’d say it was swoon-worthy. It was good, just not amazing. Looking forward to trying a local version soon, to see if its just my cooking that’s disappointing!

The Imam Fainted - stuffed eggplant

Fried Cauliflower and Stuffed Mushrooms

This cauliflower dish is easy as: steam the cauliflower florets, coat in a basic flour+water batter, and fry. They are supposed to be served up with yoghurt sauce, but I just used salt and some chilli. The recipe had eggs, I just left them out.

 

Maybe not a particularly Turkish dish, but I love me a good stuffed mushroom, so I turned the last three in our fridge into yummy, lemony, morsels.

Stuffed Mushrooms and Fried Cauliflower

Dolma

Red capsicums stuffed with rice. This was very similar to the stuffed cabbage dish, although this time I roasted them. I flavoured the rice with dried mint and other herbs.

Dolma - stuffed peppers

For the recipes, check out these yummy links:

http://www.turkishfoodandrecipes.com/2009/02/fried-cauliflower-karnibahar-kizartmasi.html

http://www.turkishfoodandrecipes.com/2009/04/imam-fainted-turkish-ratatouille-imam.html

http://www.cliffordawright.com/caw/recipes/display/recipe_id/830/

http://almostturkish.blogspot.com/2007/07/vegetarian-stuffed-peppers-zeytinyal.html

2 Comments

Filed under Vegan adaptions

2 responses to “Mezze Hooray!

  1. Mel

    Oh yum, I made Imam Bayildi recently and adored it! I baked the eggplants for much longer than the recipe stated (about 1 hour, 30 minutes) so the eggplants tuned out really soft and almost melted in your mouth. I would love to hear about how a local version compares with yours. Your Dolmas look really good too.

    • Thanks :) The eggplant was brilliant – I soaked it for 30 minutes, then fried the whole thing until it was almost falling apart, then stuffed them and put them in the fridge – no baking.

      It was just the filling I didn’t really go in for. Should have explained that in the post, but I was a bit too tired to write properly :)

Leave a Reply

