Red Lentil Soup

One of the things I enjoy most about writing this blog is that I am always learning new things about what the world eats. I had no idea at all that red lentil soup, a winter staple at my place, was so popular in Turkey. I (silly, privileged Aussie) just thought it was something that vegans made up after eating a lot of dahl.

I was wrong, and it seems the soup I’ve been making every winter is actually Turkish, right down to the dash of red pepper.

I have read many recipes for this soup, all slightly different- some use carrot, some add tomatoes, some add a little cream, etc. My recipe is pretty basic, though I add a little tomato paste for colour and flavour. If you give it a try, play around with it and add whatever you like.

Vegan Red Lentil Soup

Red Lentil Soup

serves 4

  • 1 medium onion, dices
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 1 potato, peeled and diced (I usually don’t bother peeling, and just deal with the skin bits, because I am lazy the skin is nutritious).
  • 1 litre of stock. I like to use strong (but not salty), home made stock, but use what you like.
  • 1 tbs tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt to taste
  1. In a soup pot, fry the onion until translucent.
  2. Add the garlic and fry for a further 5 minutes.
  3. Add the lentils, stock, potato, tomato paste and pepper and bring to the boil.
  4. Return to a simmer and pop the lid on loosely. Allow to cook for 40 minutes, until the lentils are cooked.
  5. Remove from heat and carefully blend (trying not to burn yourself – ouch!).
  6. Taste and add salt if needed.
  7. Serve with a little coriander on top.

Unfortunately I have no access to blending equipment at the moment, but I decided to make the soup anyway. I had hoped I could cook it until it all fell apart and blended of its own accord, but I was wrong. So, I tried pushing it through my colander, with minimal success.

Smooshing action shot

Eventually I resorted to serving it up with the solids artfully heaped in the bottom of the bowl, and the liquid poured on top. It worked, kinda, and it tasted good regardless.

Heaped solids - now tell me that phrase doesn't make you hungry!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Red Lentil Soup

  1. I totally know what you mean, I’m always learning new things about different cuisines. This soup looks outstanding.

Leave a Reply

