Introducing – Scotland!

Last weekend I started the first in a series of kitchen sessions devoted to the UK.

I started with Scotland, home of (some of) my ancestors (and some second cousins).

My pop was Scottish, but as he didn’t cook I was never really exposed to the food, just the accent. And the tartan. And the occasional bagpipe occurrence, although this wasn’t his fault – he lived up the road from the bagpipe school.

I’ve been to Scotland with Mr., but as self-catering vegans, we didn’t really experience a lot of Scottish food per se. I wrote about what we did experience back then, and you can read it here.

Anyway, before we move on to the food, lets start with some facts and figures.

Scotland – Where is it?
Scotland is part of the United Kingdom, which also includes England, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

It is the northern-most part of the island of Great Britain, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, the Irish Sea, the North Channel and the North Sea.

People and economy
Population: approx. 5.3 million people
Life expectancy: Men 76, Women 81
Ethnic groups: 88.09% Scottish (white), 7.37% Other British (white), 2.49% Other white, 2.01% others
Languages: Scottish English, Scottish Gaelic, Scots.
GDP per capita: US$43 492

Statistics from Wikipedia and Soctland.gov.uk

Did you know…?
Scotland is made up of 709 Islands.
Scottish English is an official language, different than just plain old English.
This week, 3-10th April, is Scotland week in the US and Canada.
28% of the Scottish population report having no religion.
The Scottish flag is the oldest national flag still in use.

The Menu

  • Oat Porridge and sweet tea
  • Oatcakes and Scotch Broth
  • White pudding, with Neeps and Tatties (or Clapshot, which is the same but mashed together with chives)
  • Rumbledethumps (because check out that name!)
  • If I find any leeks, I will also make Cock-a-leekie soup
  • Shortbread and Caramel Shortbread

Just a warning – I’m not making Haggis. This is because I ate the real thing once when I was little, and a veggie version in Scotland in 2011, and it was nice, but I wasn’t particularly moved either time. But you should check out Johanna’s recipe on Green Gourmet Giraffe if you’re keen.

2 Comments

Filed under Country Introductions, Menu Plan

2 responses to “Introducing – Scotland!

  1. I am sorry to hear you don’t fancy haggis – as you are aware, I am a big fan of the veggie version – it is such a great protein packed dish and these things are always nicer when made at home

    will look forward to your other Scottish offerings (and I love the word Rumbledethumps too)

Leave a Reply

