Vegan Savoury Shapes

Today I’m supposed to be packing and cleaning, so naturally I procrastibaked instead.

I was trying to come up with some interesting snacks for the big road trip, and decided to try my hand at some savoury biscuits. I’ve been making a lot of Italian christmas biscuits lately (little twists and rings flavoured with fennel and pepper), so I thought I’d meddle with the recipe to turn them into vegan knock-off Savoury Shapes.

The result was good enough for me to want to bring the blog out of retirement (temporarily) to tell you about them.

The recipe is as follows, but please be aware that I’m not the most diligent measurer at the best of times, and today is not the best of times. They could be a little saltier in my opinion, but the amount in the recipe below should suffice for those who aren’t salt-fiends.

A pile of vegan savoury shapes.

A pile of vegan savoury shapes.

Vegan savoury shapes

Makes about 30.

  • 1/2 tsp flaky salt
  • 1 tsp mixed dried herbs (I used basil, sage and oregano)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbs sesame seeds
  • 3 tbs olive oil
  • 1 1/4 cup plain flour, plus more for dusting and rolling
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup of water (a little at a time, I’m not sure how much)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees celsius.
  2. In a large bowl mix together the salt, herbs, nutritional yeast, baking powder, sesame seeds and olive oil until well mixed.
  3. Add the flour and rub with your fingers until it resembles crumbs.
  4. Add the water a little at a time and mix until a soft, but not sticky, dough forms. Don’t over knead or you’ll make chewy gluten strands.
  5. Roll out the dough on a floured surface, until it is about 3mm thick.
  6. Cut the dough into shapes, using cutters or a knife, and prick the shapes with a fork.
  7. Bake the shapes on a tray for 10 minutes? (this bit is sketchy – watch them and take them out after the bottom is gettingĀ  little brown, but before they burn).
  8. Cool on a wire rack and either eat immediately or store in an air-tight container.

2 Comments

Filed under random, Recipes

2 responses to “Vegan Savoury Shapes

  1. Savoury shapes are one of my favourite things in the world, I’m going to try making this as soon as I finish eating my lunch!

Leave a Reply

