Kimchi and Links

I just realised that I almost finished off Korean week without describing my home-made Kimchi!

The Food of Korea, says, “A man can live without his wife, but cannot live without Kimchi”, and according to David Lebovitz Koreans would be ashamed to buy Kimchi, so it would be a travesty not to include it in a week of Korean food. (I’m not attesting to the truth of either of those statements, just repeating them).

Kimchi is a dish of fermented vegetables with chilli, garlic and leek. It seems that in Australia it is most commonly made with cabbage and daikon radish, although i understand from my reading that it can be made with other ingredients.

To make kimchi you first soak the cabbage, then mix it with the other ingredients and set it to ferment in a jar or pot for a few days.

My home-made kimchi

I used a recipe I found here.

So, how did it turn out? It was fermented, and spicy, and a bit sour. I’ve never had kimchi before, so I don’t know how it stacked up to the real thing, but I thought it was pretty tasty. We had some in the Bibimbap yesterday, and I’m sure I’ll figure out something to do with the rest.

Links

Before I head off to discover a new part of the world, I thought I’d leave you with a few links for vegan-korean things. And don’t forget, you can always visit your local library for recipes and much more!

Happy Cow has a list of restaurants (for those lucky enough to actually go to Korea)

Vegetarian in Korea – a blog

Spice Island Vegan has posted some Korean recipes

Happy cooking vegan kitchen travellers.

Next week: Azerbijan!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Niki says:

    I’m impressed you made your own kimchi, maybe I should give it a go if it’s not so hard – I go through a tub every fortnight probably just snacking on it, or having it as a side with Donjang jjigae or Tobokki. It’s great to have a cold piece of spicy kimchi wrapped around a hot chopstick-full of rice, and also great in kimchi jjigae.

    1. Keira says:

      It wasn’t hard at all, although we haven’t had any since… it has turned into one of those condiments that sits at the back of the fridge until you next move house… assuming that happens to other people 🙂
      We weren’t that sold on it, in the end. That said, Mr isn’t a fa of kimchi in general, and I prefer my spicy without the cabbage… was fun though 🙂

Leave a Reply

