The food of the USA

When I think of American food, I imagine a scene from some fast food joint. US recipes can scare me a little. Lard, hydrogenated vegetable oil, bacon, butter, buttermilk, corn syrup, sugar, and lets not forget the meat. Hot dogs, soda, doughnuts, fried chicken, Twinkies, BBQ, fries with that… America is known for exporting all the junk. I love me some junk food, but it seems to be a little less junky here in Oz.

That said, there’s a big range of food eaten over there, even if we only stick to foods that are well known here in Aus, and I’m sure some of those are more like what I’m used to. Sort of. Luckily, there are also a large number of vegans, and vegetarians around who have fixed the food, and have posted and published their recipes for me to play with.

As stated above, there is a HUGE range of foods that are all supposedly quintessentially American, and while I have narrowed down the list I want to try, I haven’t been able to shorten the list enough to accomplish it in a week. So, just cos I feel like it, I’m going to spend TWO weeks on American food. Yay!

I know it seems a little Anglo-centric to spend extra time on the US, given that plenty of other places have varied cultures and cuisines that can’t be done justice in a week. But I don’t seem to have access (due to language, googleability, and the limits of my local library’s culinary section) to as much information about the food of other nations.

The food

There isn’t just one type of American food. There is Southern food, Tex Mex (different from actual Mexican food), Creole and Cajun, Mid-West food, New York food, New Hampshire food, plenty of others, and don’t forget Puerto Rico and Hawaii.

Over the next week I’ll be tackling:

  • a Tex-mex night (food not yet decided)
  • Corn Chowder
  • BBQ tofu, greens and stuff
  • Cornbread and beans
  • Hot dogs/chille dogs
  • New York style pizza
  • Waldorf Salad
  • Peanut Butter and Jelly
  • Biscuits and Gravy
  • Pumpkin Bread and/or muffins
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Key Lime Pie
  • Mac and cheeze

And that’s just the first week. Its gonna be two weeks completely chock full of US-ness.

The Book

This week I will be using a number of sources for my recipes and inspiration.

From my own bookshelf:

Vegan YumYum, by Lauren Ulm.

Vegan with a Vengeance, by Isa Chandra Moskovitz.

Lickin’ the Beaters, by Siue Moffat.

And from the internets:

Fat Free Vegan Kitchen

Fajita Recipes.net

wikipedia

Alternative Hawaii

Aloha World

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    Oooh, yummy. I’ve made cornbread before, it is wonderful. I love the idea of vegan “down home” food too, I’ve been eyeing Bryant Terry’s Vegan Soul Kitchen for a while…

Leave a Reply

