Mac n Cheese

Macaroni and Cheese. I remember watching American movies as a kid, and drooling over the idea of macaroni and cheese. It was the main character’s favourite food, or what they had for dinner when their mum, dad, big brother, or quirky uncle were trying to cheer them up. Its what baby sitters made for their charges before something spooky happened at Halloween.  But it certainly wasn’t something we ate when I was growing up in Regional NSW.

Turns out it is pretty great. I can see why kids in the US love it.

You may have noticed I’m not much of a recipe follower. I like the idea of cookbooks, but I really jut use them to get ideas, rather than following the instructions.

This time I intended to use Lauren Ulm’s recipe from Vegan YumYum, but on the night I opened the book, had a cursory glance at the ingredients, and decided I couldn’t be bothered following a recipe. I’m sure its a good recipe, and it doesn’t look difficult, I just had an odd moment of the CBFs and decided just to guess.

So we’ll say the recipe has been inspired by Vegan YumYum’s baked mac and cheese, and credit should go to her. I couldn’t be bothered measuring anything so the measurments below are just approximate, but I’ll talk you through the general gist.

Baked Mac and Cheese

  1. Boil the pasta (enough for 4 serves).
  2. Make a white sauce, make it cheesy. I make my ordinary white sauce (its here) but make it a little thicker, leave out the bay leaves, and add double the nutritional yeast, 2 tsp dijon mustard, 3 tbsp cream cheeze, some lemon juice, and some salt and vegie stock powder, and a little turmeric for colour.
  3. I then steamed some broccoli, and added the broccoli and pasta to the sauce and tossed through.
  4. Copying Lauren Ulm, I baked it all with a bread crumb/turmeric/vegie salt/nutritional yeast crust, but only for about 10 minutes.

It was exactly what I had imagined Mac and Cheese would be. It was creamy, cheesy, and warm. Very comforting comfort food.

Baked mac and cheese
Leave a Reply

