BBQ Tofu, Mash and vegies

Night three of American food was BBQ tofu, mashed potato, and orange glazed carrots and greens.

I used the BBQ Tofu recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance, although not having access to Liquid Smoke, I used the Jack Daniels smokey BBQ Sauce instead. I did the mash my ordinary way (mar, soy milk, salt, nutritional yeast, mustard), and used the Glazed Beets recipe (also from Vegan with a Vengeance) but subbed carrots and greens for the beets.

The BBQ sauce was fruity, smokey, and spicy ( I *may* have added more hot sauce than the recipe called for). A small amount of it was really good, but the tofu was a little too bbq-ey for me, as I’ve never been a BBQ sauce fan. Mr. liked it though, which is good because we had a lot of the sauce left over, so he might find it makes a second appearance tonight. The greens and carrots mixture was really good, although maybe not the best match for the tofu. Mash was, as always, really yummy.

BBQ tofu, orange-glazed carrtos and greens, and fluffy mashed potato

BBQ in the US is most popular in the southern and mid-western states, although the sauce (and the meat) differ frequently. I have no idea where my sauce would fit in best, because I took it straight from a book, and while I can find states that use a vinegar sauce, a red tomato sauce, and a white sauce, I can’t find anywhere that uses sweet and smokey.

Lexington in North Carolina claims to be the Barbecue Capital of the World, and reportedly has more than 1 BBQ restaurant per 1000 residents ( a LOT). They also have a BBQ Festival every year, and according to Wikipedia, the style of BBQ you chose to cook could be very political (in North Carolina, anyway). People really do care about weird shit sometimes.

Next up is hot dogs, woohoo! Oh, and don’t forget the pumpkin somethings I’m just about to bake…

Leave a Reply

