New-York Pizza and waldorf salad

I love making pizza. I have this pizza base recipe I was given in a high-school hospitality class, and I’ve used it ever since. In an odd piece of coincidence, my recipe for Waldorf Salad is also something I picked up in that same class. Seems like something from high-school stuck after all.

I haven’t been to New York, but I have seen movies, and even I know that New York pizza is thin, large, bid on cheese and sauce, scant on other toppings, and so greasy that is drips oil.

To emulate, I used my general pizza base recipe of 2 tsp dried yeast in some lukewarm water to prove, then added to as much flour as is necessary to make a non-sticky dough, kneaded for 10-15 minutes, rested for 30 then stretched. Just play with the amounts of water and flour for more or less dough. To make one medium sized, medium crust pizza, its about 200 ml water,  to 2 cups flour.

I usually like to make a fluffy, crusty base of medium thickness for my pizza, but this time we went with thin… we were making New York pizza, after all.

The topping was tomato sauce (semi-home made with tomato paste and chopped tomato simmered with water, salt, and oregano), Cheezly, thinly sliced hot dog (the left over one from the night before), and mushrooms.

It went in the oven, and came out as an enormous, not-quite-round-but-otherwise-perfet-looking pizza.

Pizza

We sliced it and tucked in. I tried to fold it like they do on the Ninja Turtles, but either it wasn’t thin enough, or it was over cooked. It did bend/flop when you picked up a slice though, and that was satisfyingly movie-like enough for me.

A slice of melty wonderfulness

We had it with Waldorf salad, which is a simple salad of celery, apple, grapes and walnuts, dressed with mayonnaise, which was created at the Waldorf Hotel, in New York. I left out the grapes and used Plamil Egg Free Mayonnaise instead. It was pretty good, although next time I’ll use less dressing. It was my first taste of vegan mayo, and I have to say, I was impressed- I didn’t even like mayo before I went vegan, but this stuff was pretty good.

Waldorf Salad

A very tasty New York-ish night, it turned out to be.

Leave a Reply

