Half way there

on

So, I have now made almost everything on the list for week one of my Vegan tour of the USA.

I say almost, because I haven’t yet made biscuits and gravy. This is because I worked at the weekend, so didn’t have time at breakfast, and also I frankly don’t find the idea of bread and gravy for breaky that appealing. I’ll keep them on the list, and see if I get to them this week.

I did made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, I just didn’t post them because they really aren’t news.

So far, I have loved the Key lime pie, the new york pizza, cornbread and beans, pumpkin bread, nachos, and y favourite was definitely the mac and cheese.

I wasn’t sold on the pumpkin biscuits or the BBQ tofu, and the hot dogs, chowder and peach cobbler were perfectly edible, but nothing special.

The plan for next week is to continue with foods from all over the mainland, and check out Puerto Rico and Hawaii too.

Here’s the menu plan:

  1. Chicken Long Rice, Huli Huli tofu, and banana bread (Hawaii)
  2. Rice with Pidgeon Peas, and Chicken Fricase (Puerto Rico)
  3. Burgers (which are from Connecticut, or so it’s claimed)
  4. Succotash Stew (Native American)
  5. Fried Chicken and potatoes, pumpkin and greens (soul food – no state)
  6. Gumbo (Louisiana)
  7. Creole Eggplant Casserole, Dirty Rice, and Tomatoes and Okra (louisiana, and soul food)
  8. Biscuits and Gravy (maybe)
  9. and I might try my hand at Apple pie (Vermont)

Last, a brief update of where in the US we’ve now been (this info from wikipedia and FoodByCountry:

  • a Tex-mex night (Texas)
  • Corn Chowder (New England)
  • BBQ tofu, greens and stuff (Oklahoma)
  • Cornbread and beans (just South)
  • Hot dogs/chille dogs (New York)
  • New York style pizza (New York)
  • Waldorf Salad (New York)
  • Peanut Butter and Jelly (?)
  • Biscuits and Gravy (Oklahoma)
  • Pumpkin Bread and/or muffins (New Hampshire)
  • Peach Cobbler (everywhere, but the world’s largest one is baked in Gerogia)
  • Key Lime Pie (Florida)
  • Mac and cheeze (maybe the Great Lakes region)

P.s. you should check out the wikipedia list of foods, linked above. I’s full of interesting information. I bet you didn’t know that Washington has a dedicated State Tuber, now did you?

Leave a Reply

