Aloha!

I’ve decided that this will be the last night of American food, because its time to move on to greener, healthier pastures.

Hawaiian food, Succotash Stew and Gumbo battled it out for the chance to be eaten and reviewed at our place. Annnnnd the winner is… Hawaii! Mainly because I’m not that into okra (gumbo is basically okra soup), and I forgot to soak the beans for the stew.

During my research I discovered that they don’t eat a lot of vegetables in Hawaii. They do eat a lot of pork, chicken, banana, pineapple, coconut, and spam though. In fact, they eat more spam than any other state in America. Much of the food is inspired by Chinese, Japanese, and mainland US cuisine.

I chose to try Huli Huli Tofu (usually chicken), Macaroni Salad, and Banana and Pineapple Cake.

Macaroni Salad

Basic versions of Macaroni Salad include macaroni, grated carrot, and mayonnaise. Sometimes fruit, other vegetables, sauces and macadamia nuts are added. I used Plamil Egg Free Mayonnaise, a little lime juice, chopped brazil nuts (I don’t have macadamias atm), and some very finely chopped carrot. Oh, and macaroni, of course.

It was a little bland, but not a bad version of pasta salad. Mr ate about three peoples’ worth, so I suppose he liked it!

The Huli Huli tofu is just fried tofu, with a BBQ-ish sauce. The sauce is made from pineapple juice, soy sauce, worcestershre sauce, grated ginger, and cornflour. I marinated tofu slices in the sauce for about 30 minutes, then cooked them in all the sauce a skillet for about 15 minutes on one side, and 5 on the other. The sauce thickens and coats the tofu slices, and they become delicious saucy morsels of goodness.

Huli Huli Tofu

I also made a very quick vegie stir-fry to go with it, because I really couldn’t find a decent Hawaiian vegetable dish to make, and I didn’t feel like dinner without them.

vegie stir fry
Yummy cake

The last dessert from the US was Hawaiian style banana and pineapple cake. I used my own recipe, which is below. I overcooked it a little while distracted, but its still moist and flavoursome. The icing is made of icing mixture, tofutti sour cream, and lime juice.

My verdict on Hawaiian food: Tasty, but not my style. I’d like more vegies and much less sugar and meat. To get an idea of what I mean, check out the image at this website of Hawaiian recipes.

Banana and Pineapple Cake Recipe

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tbs golden syrup
  • 2 tbs Tofutti sour cream
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup mashed banana
  • 6 pineapple rings
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp coconut essence
  1. Pre-heat oven to 170 degrees, line a cake tin with baking paper.
  2. Beat the sugar, golden syrup, sour cream and oil together with a wooden spoon, until thoroughly mixed.
  3. Add banana and pineapple, and mix well.
  4. Sift in flour and baking powder, and beat well.
  5. Add coconut, milk, and coconut essence. Mix wth a wooden spoon until mixture is consistent.
  6. Pour into the cake tin, and bake for 40 minutes, or until a skewer poked into the middle comes out clean.
  7. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then cool on a tray.
  8. Ice or dust with icing sugar and serve.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hannah says:

    I’m so glad you didn’t try to make vegan spam 😀 I love this concept of yours, and have particularly enjoyed the US weeks. I find it amusing because while I lived in the States for a year recently, I ate almost none of what you’ve veganised here! I clearly didn’t go the stereotypical tourist route 😀

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks for the compliment. I don’t think that most people from any of the countries would really identify with what I end up with. I try, but its hard to do without talking to anyone 🙂 I can’t imagine we’d end up eating the fast-food stuff if we were in the US either, but it was fun to play with at home. Vegan spam, thats a concept I’m just not into 🙂

Leave a Reply

