New kid on the block, Global Green

Global Green Food is the newest dedicated vegetarian grocer in Melbourne. Located at 33 Peel st in the city, they’re just across the road from the Vic Markets, and have a big range of vegetarian foods and ingredients for Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Thai and other cuisines.

I finally visited today, after seeing the bright green sign a few weeks ago. I was glad I did. Their selection of mock meat is enormous. I went in looking for vegetarian crab balls, and I found them, but I also found mock gamon, mock duck in every variety (roast, fried, crispy, soft), mock fish (some in fish shapes), more than one freezer full of varieties of mock chicken, mock ham, and any number of other mock things. They even had mock shark fin.

They also have the usual array of vegetarian friendly sauces, curry pastes, spices and additives, as well as a selection of snacks, noodles, drinks and teas. I even spied a bottle of vegetarian fish sauce, although it was chili flavoured, and I decided to have a go next time instead (maybe it can wait for the week I do Thai or Vietnamese).

I came out with a bunch of mock and some rice vinegar (it was on my list). I bought mock fish, mock crab balls, some goyoza, and something called Vegetarian Luck Chunks, which appears to be mock beef.

My loot

On the down side its a vegetarian store, not a vegan one, so buyer beware – some of the products I came across contain milk, such as the mock smoked salmon, which sucks because I was so excited when I saw it.

Also, most of the products are shipped from all over the place which isn’t super carbon-friendly, and contain ingredients that you may be avoiding, such as MSG, high fructose corn syrup, palm oil, unknown flavour enhancers (labeled as permitted flavours, or vegetarian flavours), and the like.

I spoke to Christine, who was behind the counter as I left, to let her know I was going to put up this review, and ask if she had a website I could link to. The website is currently under construction, but she asked if I could post a little info for her. I’m happy to oblige for a vegie store any day.

She will be sending me a flyer via email, which I will add to this post when I receive it. She also mentioned that they do tastings every Saturday at 11am, to familiarise people with their products.

I think its a great store for what it is, which is asian vegetarian foods and ingredients. It will never win my heart from the Radical Grocery Store, with all the western vegan goodness, but it was pretty darn fab, and there’s a lot there to get happy about. So my advice is to hop along to a tasting, or visit the store any time, it will be worth your while.

Global Green Vegetarian Food is at 1/33 Peel St, West Melbourne.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy says:

    Hey thanks for mentioning this! It could have taken me months to find out about it otherwise. I’ll try to check out Global Green this weekend. 🙂

    1. Keira says:

      No worries, I just wanted to help out, because so many veg businesses fail. Glad you liked it.

  2. Niki says:

    Awesome! I can see myself spending a fortune there though, wanting to try each and every mock meat on offer!

    1. Keira says:

      I know! I really had to check myself to keep within my budget 🙂

  3. Hannah says:

    I visited this morning and spent a LOT of money. Bought “prawns” and “salmon” and heaps of other exotic things. What a great shop. I chatted with Christine and she told me that they were open to any suggestions for new products and I suggested La Panella pastries. She seemed pretty keen on the idea. Please visit and support her – she’s lovely and they have some amazing stuff.

    1. Keira says:

      Great. And I’m very much in agreement… do visit!

Leave a Reply

