The Japan Plan

Food in japan is centered around rice, soup, fish, other meats, and vegetables, with sauces and condiments playing their part. It is usually touted as the healthiest food in the world, due to the focus on grains, vegetables and fish, and the lack of a lot of saturated fats and sugars.

I’m using Practical Japanese Cooking by Shizuo Tsuji and Koichiro Hata, and the Australian Women’s Weekly Cooking Class Japanese, which were both kindly lent to me by Mr.’s mum (thanks, Sue!). Nothing from the library this week, because it seems that someone else in Brunswick also wants to get into the Japanese culinary action.

I will also probably use some recipes from the web, and I might even try my hand at outdoing Iron Chef Japanese, if I can find some old episodes somewhere (I loved that show!).

Here is the menu plan for the week, although I may add some extra bits and pieces if I have time.

  • Miso soup
  • Clear soup (varying flavours)
  • Rice balls – Onigiri
  • Sushi of varying kinds
  • Fried things – Tempura
  • Skewers – Yakitori
  • Terriyaki Mock Fish –
  • Steamed Savoury Custard – Chawan-mushi
  • Some kind of One Pot – Sukiyaki
  • Simmered Tofu – Yudofu
  • Fried Tofu – Agedashi Dofu
  • Chilled Soba noodles
  • Steamed, simmered, grilled and raw vegetables (hooray!)

Its pretty standard, I know, but that’s what I’m after this week. If I decide I have time for experiments, that’s when I’ll pull out the Iron Chef.

So, lets get cracking!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. lisa says:

    No okonomiyaki?!

    1. Keira says:

      Its possible, but I thought I’d keep the intentions list a little smaller this time around, as I haven’t finished the list the last three weeks running! Apparently my eyes are a little bigger than my stomach (and the amount of time I want to spend in the kitchen 🙂 )

  2. Kristy says:

    I was going to say the same as Lisa, you have to have japanese pancake, pleassssseeeeeeee

  3. Keira says:

    Ok Ok, I will bow to the pressure. By your powers combined, I’ll have a crack at Okonomiyaki. 🙂

Leave a Reply

