The taste of Autumn

According to Practical Japanese Cooking, Yudofu, or simmered tofu, has become so synonymous with Autumn that the word is now considered a ‘season word’. Essentially just blocks of tofu simmered in barely flavoured water and served with condiments, I thought this dish was likely to be too bland for our salt-addicted household. Boy was I wrong. Warm tofu dipped in the vinegar/sake/soy sauce, and eaten with spring onion, minced ginger and seaweed flakes is awesome! I can see why it would be so popular in Autumn, being warm but not too heavy, with really lovely piquant flavours in the sauce and the ginger. It was a really interesting way to serve tofu, and something I’d definitely eat again.

Condiments for the yodofu

We also had clear vegetable soup, simmered mushrooms, bought goyoza, and some green veg and rice. The vegetable soup was simple an had a nice smooth flavour. The recipe came from Australian Women’s Weekly Japan Cooking Class although I left out the potato and bean shoots as I didn’t have them, and added some celery as filler in their place.

Clear soup with vegetables

The mushrooms were simmered in a mixture of mushroom stock, soy sauce and vegetarian dashi, with a little raw sugar thrown in at the end. I used shimeji mushrooms instead of shiitake, as Mr isn’t such a fan, and they’ll e in lots of dishes this week, so I thought I’d try not to over do it for him. They turned out a little on the salty side, but were good with a lot of rice mixed in.

Simmered Mushrooms

The goyoza was bought at Global Green the other day, and was actually really good, although somewhat unattractive. I was surprised, because I have found bought dumplings to have odd flavours in the past.  They did fall apart a little when frying, but that may be because I didn’t have time to let them thaw, so I gave them a quick boil before frying, making their pastry wet and sticky.

Enormous pile of fried goyoza
Greens, glorious greens!

The greens were very simple, just steamed over the top of the soup just before it was done. It was a very yummy meal altogether, but the yodofu really was the star of the show, I thoroughly recommend you give it a try.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Niki says:

    Hey that simmered tofu sounds interesting. What did you simmer it in? How long? What sort of tofu?

    1. Keira says:

      Hey. I used a recipe out of the book, as mentioned. You simmer it only for long enough to warm it through, in water with a little seaweed in it. I used wakame, but the recipe calls for about 2 inches of Konbu (kelp). I used good quality firm tofu (one that doesn’t look grainy, and is not crumbly).

      It sounds plain, but with the flakes of nori, minced ginger and dipping sauce (soy, mirin, sake), its was fab.

Leave a Reply

