Teppanyaki and stuff

The plan was to make sushi, but when I wandered into the kitchen I was so sleepy and generally out of sorts that fiddly food was out of the question. Instead, I decided to make something teppanyaki-ish, with some vegies and noodles.

I have fond memories of real teppanyaki, which I first encountered at a friend’s birthday when I was 13 (?, maybe 14?). It was awesome. Good food, primarily made up of former creatures, cooked in front of you and then thrown at you. This wasn’t like that.

I used a recipe from the Australian Women’s Weekly (from now on shortened to AWW) Cooking Class Japanese for both the teppanyaki and the simmered green beans.

I subbed tofu and vegetarian Luck Chunks (from Global Green) for the prawns, chicken and beef the recipe called for. These were soaked in soy sauce, garlic, chilli and brown sugar, cooked, and served with a dipping sauce of soy, mirin, sugar, ginger ad sesame oil.

Teppanyaki is supposed to be cooked on a grill, near or at the table, and eaten immediately, in batches. Like most people I know, however, I don’t own a grill, I don’t have space for a BBQ, and (unlike most people) I don’t actually own a table. So I cooked it in my wok, in one batch, like the culinary heretic I am. It turned out more like a stir-fry than a BBQ, but it was delicious and, thankfully, easy.

I have really very poor hand eye coordination (especially given I’m a personal trainer!), and was almost too tired to cook, let alone throw food at anyone, so to avoid having to clean tofu off the carpet we settled for meekly placing the food on our plates.

Tofu and Vegetarian Luck Chunks (Mock Beef)
Simmered green beans- simple and yum

The green beans were simmered in a light broth of vegetarian dashi, soy sauce and rice wine.

We ate them both with some chilled Cha Soba (green tea noodles) tossed with sesame oil, sake, sesame seeds and little bits of nori.

Cha Soba - not a very good picture

This was a very simple and filling meal, which was exactly what we were in need of after a long day. Yum!

Leave a Reply

