Bowing to presure

on

Due to a couple of pleedings for Okonomiyaki (which I’d never eaten before) I bowed to pressure and added it to my plan.

I’m so glad I did! It was delicious!!!!

Okonomiyaki, frying in the pan

I sort of made it up after reading a few non-vegan recipes, using soy milk, powdered dashi,  flour, and no eggs in the batter, and using smoked tofu instead of pork, radish and bok choy instead of cabbage (I didn’t have any cabbage), and adding some spring onions.

Condiments

I fried them in the wok, and served them with a soy sauce/sake combination, extra chopped spring onions, and loads of grated ginger.

They. Were. Awesome! I officially have a new favorite Japanese dish. I have since been told that they are often served with Japanese mayonnaise and pickled ginger, which we will have to try next time.

We also had some Udon noodles, marinated watercress, and steamed custard.

The noodles were easy, yummy, starchy goodness. The watercress wasn’t great. I used a recipe out of the book, Practical Japanese Cooking, which called for a soy sauce, dashi and sesame seed dressing. I like watercress, but I think the salty seasoning only played up how sharp and bitter it is, instead of complimenting it.

Watercress

The custard was awful. Really, really awful. I don’t know if this is generally the way with vaguely fishy-flavoured savoury custard, or if I killed it during the veganising process, but in either case it didn’t inspire me to make it again (or even to finish it!).

This style of custard is generally made with eggs, bonito stock, carrot, spinach and prawns or other sea creatures. I made it with silken tofu, cornflour, vegan dashi, soy sauce, nutritional yeast, onions, carrot, and bok choy, and I finished it with the lemon zest and peel the recipe called for.

Hot custard (on a pot holder)

It looked promising but odd when I spooned the mixture into ramekins ready to be steamed. It turned out, well, odd. It didn’t cook through, so didn’t set, which was the first problem. It also tasted too strongly of the cornflour I added to help it set, and the combination of creamy, gelatinous and salty was quite off putting.

I had high hopes for the custard, and was pretty disappointed both with my failed vegan version, and with my taste-buds for their lack of a sense of adventure this time around.

Rather than dissing the potentials of steamed savoury custard, however, I issue a challenge- I’d love to see any recipes or reviews for a good vegan steamed custard, if anyone else is keen to give it a go, or has tried it with success.

Let me know if yours works out better than my attempt!

One Comment Add yours

  1. K says:

    yay and yum! Looks super tasty.

Leave a Reply

