Tunisian nights

The first night of Tunisian food featured vegetable couscous, pretend mergues sausages, and cauliflower salad a la sfax.

Tunisian style couscous is quite different to what were used to: It is steamed, rather than made in a pot with liquid stirred in, and the vegetables are served on the side, rather than in the couscous itself.

The vegetables were cooked in a light tomato sauce, and were spicy and delicious. I used carrots and zucchini, but left out the turnips, as I forgot them when I went shopping. I wussed out and didn’t steam the couscous, lacking the required implements, so we had completely inauthentic (but tasty) grains.

Tunisian vegetable couscous

The cauliflower and potato salad (Cauliflower salad a la sfax) is named after a city called Sfax, which is the second largest city in Tunisia. The salad is made of potato, cauliflower, olive oil, harissa, carraway and lemon juice. It was seriously good, and had two of my top five favourite vegies in it, so I was pleased. I will absolutely be making this again, and it may even take the place of my stand-by BBQ salad.

Cauliflower salad a la Sfax

I took the recipe for the vegetable couscous and the cauliflower salad straight from North African Cookery, which you can borrow (when I give it back next week) from the Moreland library, so I won’t publish the recipes here.

Sausages frying in the wok

For protein I decided to add sausages, which had been languishing in the fridge and needed using. In a paltry attempt to fit in with the theme, I rubbed them with hot sauce and fennel powder, and pretended they were the famed mergues spicy sausages. They were really yummy, and I think this is something I’ll try again to keep our frequent dose of B12-fortified convenience a little more interesting.

It was a filling, spicy, flavoursome dinner. The vegetables that went with the couscous were good, but probably not my choice – I think I prefer roasted vegies in my couscous.

Yum

I’m looking forward to tomorrow night- chickpeas, garlic, and more cauliflower and tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

