Garlicky chickpea breakfast soup

Yup. Apparently, sometimes, people in Tunisia have garlicky chickpea soup for breaky. They also eat bread, drink coffee, etc, but I’m most impressed by the concept of garlic for breakfast.

I love garlic. Mr isn’t so keen, and was pretty adamant that I make something to go with it, in case it was awful, but as soon as I saw a recipe, I was thinking, “Yay, garlic! Bring it on!”.

This wonderful idea for a soup is called Lablabi, it is sold at street stalls, and it includes chickpeas, water, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, harissa and bread, and sometime a sprinkling of corriander.

Lablabi - i'm not sure why it has bubbles in the photo

It was delicious! Even suspicious Mr was impressed, and had seconds. Stupidly easy to make, too. I can’t remember where I got this recipe, as I looked at a lot of them on the net, so I’ll post it below.

I also made cauliflower chackchouka, using the recipe from North African Cookery, although I added some couscous at the end because the sauce didn’t reduce as much as it should have, and I ran out of time to wait for it, as we both needed to rush out the door to our respective evening activities. It is a sort of stew, made from potato, cauliflower, tomato puree, onions, garlic, and mergues sausage (I substituted with good ol’ Sanitarium).

Chakchouka bil brouklou

They were both really good dishes, however i have to say i preferred the Lablabi – garlic and lemon juice is always a winning combination for me. Next stop – vegan ‘meat’ balls.

Lablabi Recipe

  • 1 cup cooked chickpeas (soaked over night, cooked and drained, or you could use the canned variety)
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Water
  • 2 tsp Harissa paste (or carraway powder, corriander powder, cumin and hot chilli)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • salt to taste
  • 2 pieces day old bread
  • 2 tbs fresh corriander
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  1. Add the chickpeas, garlic and Harissa to a saucepan, cover with water, and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.
  2. Break bread into small pieces and divide it and the corriander between two bowls. Drizzle with olive oil.
  3. Add lemon juice to the saucepan, and add salt to taste if necessary.
  4. Pour hot soup over the bread and oil, and serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

