Aussie round-up

Being Australian, not every Aussie week dish was made by me. We visited Mr.’s nanna, who made us ‘meat’ and three veg, and fed us Anzac Biccies and scones (unfortunately I don’t have a photo).

However, there are a few dishes I just haven’t posted yet, so here they are, condensed into an ‘out-of-time’ double post 🙂

Pumpkin Soup

As it turns out, Australians and Indians are perhaps the only people in the world who take pumpkin seriously as a savoury, dinner-worthy vegetable. And no one else eats it in soup. In England they feed it to pigs, in the US they bake it with sugar, and most other countries seem to ignore it.

Pumpkin soup, then, is more Aussie than I knew. We ate it frequently when I was growing up, and there are so many different versions of pumpkin soup – curry, spiced, creamy, tomatoey – that I learned from my family, its hard to pick just one to post! Instead, I’ve decided to give you my recipe for pumpkin soup base, and you can add what you want from there.

Pumpkin Soup
  • 1 onion, diced finely
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 cups chopped pumpkin ( I like butternut)
  • 2 medium potatoes, chopped
  • 1 can  pureed tomatoes
  • 3 cups vegetable stock
  • salt to taste
  1. In a large soup pot, saute the onion in a little olive oil for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Add the garlic and fry until fragrant (about 2 minutes)
  3. Add the pumpkin, and saute for around 5 minutes over medium heat, stirring frequently.
  4. Pour in the stock, and add the potatoes and tomatoes. Bring to the boil, then turn the heat down and allow to simmer until the pumpkin is cooked through.
  5. Using a bar mix (or similar), puree the soup until no lumps are left.
  6. Taste now.

I like to add: 2 tbs tomato paste and 1 tbsp mixed herbs or; 1 tin of coconut milk, 1 tbsp curry paste and some fresh corriander or; curry powder and cayenne pepper or; lime juice, cumin, dried corriander and carraway; or any combination of these.

Serve with bread.

Golden Syrup Dumplings

I’m sure I’ve said it before, but maybe its time for a reminder – I’m a complete sugar-addict. I know its bad for me. I’m a personal trainer, so I work with the consequences of sugar addiction on a daily basis and yet… Its just so tasty!

Golden syrup dumplings were probably my favourite dessert when I was a kid, and they’re still a favourite now. I especially love to make them in the cold weather, and serve them up with some yummy vegan custard – divine.

Steaming golden syrup dumplings!

This is my standard recipe, it makes about 2 serves.

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup golden syrup
  • 1 tbsp margarine
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp margarine
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup soy milk
  1. In a saucepan, combine the water, brown sugar, and the first listed serve of margarine and golden syrup.
  2. Bring to the boil, then allow to simmer gently.
  3. In a mixing bowl, sift the flour with the baking powder.
  4. Add the margarine, and rub in until the mix resembles bread crumbs.
  5. Add the golden syrup and soy milk, and mix together to form a dough.
  6. Make balls out of tablespoons of the dough.
  7. Drop balls into the simmering mixture, and continue to simmer for 15-20 minutes.
  8. Serve with custard, cream or ice-cream.

Aussie breakfast

There’s no recipe here, as such, but I wanted to add a little bit about our standard Aussie breakfast (or brekky). The world knows we love or vegemite, but have you ever seen it?

I took a photo to explain standard brekky at our place.

Marmite on toast, Marmite, and knock-off weetbix

Mr. has 8 (yes 8) Weet-bix with soy milk and raw sugar, followed by some fruit. I usually have a cup of tea and 2 pieces of toast with margarine and a little Marmite (because Kraft owns vegemite, and Phillip Morris owns Kraft), or cereal and fruit.

Not the most exciting breakfast going, but oddly Australian.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Niki says:

    Mmm I never had those golden syrup dumplings before! Sounds awesome!

    And I just don’t get how pumpkin can be so underrated in other countries as a savoury meal, it rules!

  2. Kate says:

    Yeah I stopped eating Vegemite because the ethical supermarket guide gave Kraft a very bad rating. I’m getting used to Dick Smith’s Mightymite, but it just ain’t the same…

    1. Keira says:

      Sad, really, to have to give it up. Marmite is pretty good, but it isn’t as sharp as vegemite, so you need more of it. I haven’t tried the Dick Smith one.

      1. Niki says:

        Man, I have fallen in love with MightyMite! Yes, it’s not the same, but I like that it’s not as strong cos you can slather it on your toast all thick and gooey – yum!

  3. Johanna GGG says:

    we had pumpkin soup tonight – I love pumpkin in savoury food – and don’t usually like just sweet food without some fruit or chocolate but seeing your golden syrup dumplings makes me want to make them – loved them when my mum made them but it wasn’t so often – tried a baked version a while back and it just wasn’t the same – although I did admire a friend making them with chocolate inside

Leave a Reply

