Australia- the verdict

on

A week of Aussie food has been fun. It has made us remember growing up, learning to cook, and our favourite childhood foods.

It also reminded us of the starchy and somewhat bland culinary heritage we have! You can make almost every Aussie dish I know of if you have sugar, white flour, milk, butter, golden syrup and/or meat on hand. Meat pies, meat and three veg, roast meat, floury curry, biscuits, floury dumplings, etc.

It makes me appreciate multiculturalism, and the interesting healthy foods that comes with it. Most Aussies these days eat a broad range of foods, either from their own or a mixture of cultural heritages, and its for the best 🙂

The verdict on our food: tasty, easy comfort-food, but not the best choice for health. I’m glad to have it every now and then, and I love my Mum’s curry when I visit, but I’m happy to swap this food for stir-fries and curries in our weekly menu.

Where to next?

Have an idea? I’m tossing up between Brazil, France, and Italy this wee. I’m open to suggestions though… so, where do you want to see me go next?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Niki says:

    Korean! I’m on a Korean food fix at the mo, but haven’t ventured far enough…

    1. Keira says:

      Korean is good… but i did it already 🙂

      1. Niki says:

        No way!? I missed that completely, off to find it now!

  2. Katie says:

    You know I want to say Italian just cos I so, so, so love to indulge in carbs but Brazilian could be cool?

    1. Keira says:

      mmm, I love italian. But, we don’t have a lot of basil or tomato atm, being so cold. I’m leaning toward french.. onion soup, creamy stuff, mushrooms and pastry… divine

Leave a comment