the verdict, the next topic and a little victory dance

I’ve been out for a few days and I apologise. I, along with a great many others, was kinda busy electioneering, then recovering/bludging.

Al I’m gonna say on the matter is “Woohoo, a Green in the House of Reps, 9 (9!) Green Senators, and highest Green vote, well, ever! Yay!”. That’s it, I’m done now. This is a food blog, after all.

Next up, we have the verdict for France, which I forgot to post last week when I was drowning in leaflets.

I enjoyed making the food this week, even when it tanked (like the creme caramel). The Seitan Bourguinon was definitely a highlight, and as always I had fun with the soups.

I didn’t attempt a croissant this time, as the weather was too cold to get dough to rise in my kitchen. Having tried it before though, I can tell you that the recipes using coconut oil alone are a sham, and the nuttelex gets a passable but not great pastry. I was going to attemot a mixture of the two, melted together then reconstituted in the fridge. I will try it one day, in less inclement weather, and I’ll let you know how it goes.

French food, on the whole, generally scores pretty well with me, and when I can be assured no cute-furries (or even icky-slimies) were harmed in the making, well, the judge is impressed.

Next up is Mexico, due to the abundance of corriander being produced by our garden. Looking forward to it!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristy says:

    Looking forward to Mexico, since that my latest obsession.

  2. Johanna GGG says:

    surely you should just be cooking green food to celebrate 🙂

    seriously, I am excited about mexico too as I find the cuisine fascinating – esp how different it is to the mexican food I grew up with!

    I am surprised to hear you love french food because I always felt it was centred around meat, cream and butter so would not think it would appeal to a vegan – maybe that is just my prejudice!

    1. Keira says:

      Ah, maybe its just me, but I happily admit to missing cream and butter. I don’t miss meat in general, but I do remember eating double cooked duck, and thinking at the time that it was divine.

      I don’t do those things now, and i don’t feel cheated and don’t think I’ll ever go back, but I haven’t forgotten the up side people get when/if they can ignore the gross side.

  3. Mandee says:

    I think French food can be just as delicious vegan! I spent a few weeks cooking it this year, including croissants and I know some of the recipes I will make again and again!

    Looking forward to Mexico!

    1. Keira says:

      Have you posted the croissants recipe anywhere? I have one that is half decent, but still not great, and would love to try yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

