Mexican Menu

Mmmmm, just looking at all the sites with Mexican recipes makes me salivate with anticipation of the food to come this week.

I was surprised to learn earlier this year, that almost all my favourite “Mexican” dishes weren’t Mexican at all, but Tex-Mex. Nachos? Out. Cheese Sauce? Out. That said, the dishes that are Mexican still look fabulous, and exactly what the doctor ordered for the end of winter: colourful, spicy, limey and filling, with lots of corn and beans.

Unfortunately the Moreland Libraries couldn’t pull through for me with an available book about Mexican Cuisine, so I resorted to the internets once more. After perusing a number of sites, listed below, I put together the following menu:

  • Mole Poblano
  • Hot Chocolate
  • Champurrado (thick hot chocolate with aniseed)
  • Chayote Soup
  • Quesadillias
  • Tacos
  • Picadillo ( a mince-based dish)
  • Refried Beans
  • Rice
  • Lime soup (sopa de lima)
  • salads, salsas and stuff

Can’t wait to start the nomming.

Separating the Mexican from the Tex Mex on the net was more difficult and time consuming than you’d think. Below are a few links I liked the look of, including a few for veg recipes.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Hannah says:

    I am So Excited. Have wanted to try mole for ages, and would love to see how choko could be made tasty 😉 Also, I’m not much of a hot chocolate girl, but I AM a crazy-flavours-with-chocolate girl, so I shall be awaiting your next posts with bated breath. Hurrah!

  2. Niki says:

    Yep, I’m excited too!
    I also jsut got this free vegan mexi cookbook in my email which you might be interested in!
    http://veganculinaryexperience.com/VCEAug10.pdf

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks for the link 🙂

Leave a Reply

