Curry squash, Makubi, coconut rice

For the first night of cooking Tanzanian, I wanted to try a mixture of foods, as well as get some vegetables into us, after a few days of not-so-healthy eating. We tried curry squash (actually butternut pumpkin), makubi, which is greens with tomato and peanut butter, and some coconut brown rice.

To make the makubi, I used this recipe. It was very easy, and a very tasty way to eat our greens. I used some kale, which our garden happily offered, instead of the spinach, for an extra green kick. I used chopped ripe tomatoes with a little bit of tomato paste instead of tinned tomatoes, and used crunchy peanut butter instead of smooth, because we don’t have smooth around much.

Makubi

The coconut brown rice was just cooked in a saucepan, with coconut milk added when the rice had about 10 minutes to go. I don’t think brown rice is particularly Tanzanian, but I wanted to up the nutrient and protein content to make up for past sins 🙂

A triangle of coconut rice

I had come across a recipe for curry squash somewhere on the internet, but of course I can’t find it now that I want to link to it! I’ll add the recipe as I remember it, and if/when I find the link I will credit the original poster.

Curry Squash

This was a healthy-ish, fun dinner. I loved the peanut butter in everything, and the curry using Keen’s curry powder was reminiscent of our childhoods, which was nice. The food was quite mild, though, and could probably use a little salt to make it appeal to western tastes (I’ve said to add some in the recipe below, but we didn’t). The makubi was an interesting way to prepare greens, especially kale, which needs some cooking, and made them very flavourful.

All dishes I would eat again, and happily, no changes had to be made to veganise, which could be a first for this blog.

Dinner

Tanzanian Curry Squash, serves 2

  • a little oil
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 cups of butternut pumpkin, large dice
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder (the bright yellow stuff)
  • 1 tin tomatoes
  • some water
  • 2 cm ginger, minced
  • 1 green sweet pepper, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • salt, if you use natural peanut butter
  1. Fry the onions in the oil until soft.
  2. Add the garlic and continue to fry until fragrant.
  3. Add the pumpkin and curry powder and stir fry for about 3 minutes, until everything is coated in curry powder and goes bright yellowy-orange.
  4. Add the tomatoes, ginger, sweet pepper, and enough water to almost cover the pumpkin. Simmer until pumpkin is soft and the liquid has reduced.
  5. Add peanut butter and keep over heat until the mixture thickens a little.
  6. Add salt to taste.
  7. Serve with a grain.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Hi. It made me hungry just reading the recipe. Going to try this over the weekend

Leave a Reply

