Birthday Round Up

It was my Birthday over the weekend, yay!

My favourite part of birthdays is the cake… making the cake! I love making birthday cake, and thinking of new flavour-combinations, decorating, and, of course, the eating.

In a fit of birthday happy, I decided to break from our usual programming and post this birthday cake recipe, which I literally dreamed up. Sometimes I wake up with a recipe ready to go in my head – this is one of those.

Vegan Coconute Ice Cake

Coconut Ice Cake with Strawberry Filling and White Chocolate Coconut Ganache

Cake

  • 1 tin coconut cream
  • 4 Tbs lite vegan margarine
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp coconut essence
  • 2/3 cup dessicated coconut
  • 1 2/3 cups flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • a teeny bit of red/pink food colouring

Filling

  • 3 Tbs lite vegan Margarine
  • 4 Tbs strawberry jam
  • Up to 3 cups icing mixture

Ganache

  • 4 Tbs Coconut Cream
  • 300g Vegan white chocolate
  • 1 cup icing mixture
  • Strawberries, for garnish
  1. For the Cake: Pre-heat the oven to 170 degrees, line a large square baking tin with baking paper.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, add margarine, coconut cream, sugar, coconut essence and coconut, and mix together with an electric mixer for about 5 minutes.
  3. Add flour and baking powder, and continue to beat with the mixer for another 3 minutes, or until well combined.
  4. Slowly add the soy milk and a teensy bit of pink or red vegan food colouring, mixing until well combined, forming a smooth batter.
  5. Pour batter into a large square baking tin. Bake at 170 degrees celsius, for 30 to 40 minutes. A skewer poked in the middle will come out crumby but not wet when it is done.
  6. Allow to cool.
  7. When Cake is completely cool, trim the edges. Cut it in half, so that you have two pieces of equal size. Set aside.
  8. For the filling: InΒ  small mixing bowl, whip the margarine and strawberry jam with a fork. Slowly add the icing mixture to form a smooth, very thick icing batter. You may only need 2 cups, I can’t remember precisely how much I used.
  9. Place one half of the cake onto your serving plate. Smother with the strawberry filling, the top with the other half of the cake. flatten the edges of the icing with a spatula, if necessary.
  10. For the ganache: In a small saucepan add the coconut cream, then add the vegan white chocolate, and stir over low heat until melted and smooth. You could use a double boiler if you have one, but I don’t bother, and it turns out fine.
  11. When the chocolate is completely melted it goes an odd yellow colour – don’t worry, that’s normal. Remove the mixture from the heat. Slowly add the icing sugar and whisk to remove any lumps.
  12. Allow to cool slightly, then smooth the ganache over the cake using a spatula of a butter knife. If it is very runny, wait longer – it will firm up. If you leave it too long, reheat slightly.
  13. Once ganache has begun to firm on the cake, garnish with fresh strawberries.

I was a little worried that this cake was going to be too sweet, but it was just right, and a fun departure from heavy dark chocolate treats we’ve been enjoying while I perfect the recipes for the book.

While I’m here, I also want to put in a mention to my friends and family, for their effort and thoughful presents.

My mum, step-dad, sister and brother gave me some gorgeous new dishes to show off here, which I will do very soon, a pretty apron, and a fabbo recipe binder, which will be very useful, and a lot of fun to use. Along the same lines, my dad and step-mum gave me a notebook for recipe collection (yay!) and some nice pens. My partner’s mum gave me a book voucher and some vegan chocolate, perfect for book recipes, and for pondering new vegan cookbooks! So thanks Mum, Dad, Ralph, Lynda, Katie, Jay, Sue and Wim. Also, thanks to my friend Megan who came all the way from Canberra to visit me on my birthday, and to my Mr. who made my day lovely.

Holding my cake in my pretty new apron

So, it seems from my presents that I have a lot of cookbook writing and blogging to do!

I’ll be back soon, with some yummy food from Malaysia. Til then, hope you enjoy some cake, and I’ll leave with a pic of a very special heart pizza I made recently, for an at-home date-night.

Heart pizza with heart potato
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Vicki says:

    Happy birthday!!
    Your cake looks so good, great idea!

  2. Cindy says:

    What a gorgeous cake! And a happy birthday to you. πŸ™‚

  3. Johanna GGG says:

    happy birthday – beautiful cake – the coconut white chocolate ganache sounds yummy

  4. K says:

    Looks friggin amazing!

Leave a Reply

