Fried Kway Teow

Kway teow is one of my favourite dishes in the whole world. I fell in love with it in Canberra, and used to get it from the famous Dickson Noodle House, pre and post vegan times. It is a truly fabulous comfort-food, all oily, starchy, salty goodness.

I had learned to call it Char Kway teow, but Mr has since indoctrinated me into the language mash-up of fried kway teow instead. I don’t know why. Its a Singapore thing, I think, and it seems to be what it gets called most in Melbourne.

Anyway, there are great places to get it here in Melbs, but I’m saving a few in-theme reviews for the last post, so I wont go into it now. Its easy to make though, and worth it for some quick and delicious fare at home.

Most recipes look alike, so I’ll post mine, with the caveat that I probably got it from somewhere else (years ago and I can’t remember). My fave version uses puffed tofu and some extra stuff, but you can use ordinary tofu, tempeh or whatever.

Fried Kway Teow with some greens beans and purple kale

Fried Kway Teow

  • Fresh flat rice noodles (I stuffed up in a hurry and got rolled ones and had to shred them. Try not to do that)
  • Tofu Puffs
  • Pretend chicken and beef strips (I used Fry’s)
  • 2 cloves garlic, miced
  • chilli sauce (we like Sriracha)
  • garlic shoots (or garlic chives)
  • spring onions
  • red chillies, chopped
  • light soy sauce
  • dark soy sauce
  • Most people add beansprouts… we are beansprout-haters, so we don’t.

Fry the garlic in a little oil in the wok. Add the tofu and fake meats, douse in light soy, and fry until cooked. Add the spring onions, garlic shoots and chillies and mix through. Add the noodles, a lot of oil, and the dark soy sauce. Fry, mixing with a wok-stirrer, until noodles are warm and everything is a brown-ish colour (photo above is not representative – I ran out of dark soy). Serve on their own or with some vegies.

One Comment Add yours

  1. K says:

    sounds yummy

    once i go back to eating g/f I might try to make this, and while I use tamari in place of one soy sauce, I wonder what else I can replace for the light/dark soy sauce

Leave a Reply

