Friday is my day off

Just quick update because its my day off so I can!

I was compelled to blog again today for two reasons: 1, I have a mouse and 2, I’ve been making sweets (yay!).

We had been made aware of our mousey house guests a while ago, finding “evidence” of them in the cupboard. A lot of plastic and glass container buying later, and we thought they must have moved on to greener pastures. It seems this is not so.

At some point this morning, while I drafted posts and prowled around the internet looking at comics and vegan recipes, I noticed a little bit of rustling. Looking up slowly, I spied a tiny little mouse, sitting on the edge of the bowl of cat food. He saw me, grabbed a pellet, and ran under the book shelf.

That’s right, I’m so lazy on my day off that I was still enough for long enough that a mouse to thought he was alone.

I am slightly concerned that he will eat so much that he’ll invite his friends over and have a breeding frenzy, but other than that I’m just glad that someone is eating the veganpet pellets. The feline flatmates (they’re not ours, they just visit to sleep inside on cold nights) wot touch the stuff unless we’re not looking, in an attempt to get us to go back to feeding them dead creature.

Also, I’ve got to say, he’s kind of.. cute. I’ve called him Stanley.

Here’s a photo. I spent half the morning playing cat and, well, mouse with him trying to get this photo, as the sound of camera zooming seems to scare him off. Clearly close-up shy.

Stanley and the food

We’ll see what happens. We’ve had a house discussion about what to do about the mouse/mice before, and there has been geeral agreement that the easiest, least cruel way to get them to move will be to remove the food source. Wish us luck, cos as cute as he is, I don’t think the landlords will like it if we start keeping mice under the bookshelf.

Unrelatedly (I hope) I’ve also spent the morning making rocky road for a diner thing we’re going to tonight.

Dark chocolate and cherry rocky road

This has been made possible by the wonderful Anikee at the Radical Grocery Store, who stocks vegan marshmallows, vegan ‘milk’ chocolate and all manner of other wonderous vegan goodies at her shop of Sydney road.

Milk chocolate and coconut vegan rocky road

I’ve made two kinds – a milk chocolate, nuts and coconut version, and a dark chocolate, nuts and glace cherries version. MG yum, it is taking a lot of my energy to NOT eat it all before tonight.

Next up? Housework, and vegan lemon cheezecake for the potluck on Sunday being held by the good people at InTheMoodForNoodles. Awesome day off.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Carla says:

    keira that rocky road looks SENSATIONAL Anikees been dying for some vegan rocky road.. perhaps you can take her a bit 😉

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks 🙂 I’ll have to stop by on the way to dinner 🙂

  2. Keira says:

    MouseWatch update: It seems Stanley is a complete guts, and just eats veganpet all day. And he’s getting bolder as I watch. This makes the concern a little more serious 🙂

  3. Hannah says:

    I agree, the rocky road looks glorious! I think it’s the vegan marshmallows… they’re so, well, shiny. Pretty, pretty shiny-ness…

    My housemate would be apoplectic if we had a mouse and I told her I wanted to keep him as a pet 😀 Thankfully I haven’t had to deal with thT issue yet!

Leave a Reply

