Round the world vegan is going around the world!!!

Phew! Well, the election is over, and I’m over the worst of my post-election lurgie (laryngitis coupled with the dreaded Greens-Cold-Of-Death), and almost over my post-election “how did that happen?” funk, so its time to get back into the blogging.

Well, nearly.

After 8 weekes of busy busy, with little exercise and lots of bought “meals”, I’m a bit heavier and a lot less “well”… so another week of salads and soups and tea and sleep is on the cards before I get back in to cooking the food of the world.

In the meantime though, I have a bunch of posts about the Phillipines that I never got around to finishing, and an announcement to make.

Round the world vegan is going around the world!

I’m very excited and happy to announce that in March, I’m moving to Micronesia to be a house wife (and probably help out in some other way), followed by (we think) a trip to the States, maybe including Canada and Mexico.

Its all pretty darn exciting (for me, anyway 🙂 )! Especially considering that it looks like this: (Updated – this is what it actually looks like, so far as I can tell)

Pretty

Also this:

Holy crap that's a big wave

In celebration, I think I’m going to bring in random Micronesia facts, to go with the random Eurovision facts.

So, Micronesia fact #1: Micronesia has four States, Chuuk, Kosrae, Yap and Pohnpei (which is where we’re going).

See you soon for more recipes, successes and mishaps.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Hannah says:

    Congratulations!!! I’m so full of excitement for you and bitter, bitter envy for myself that I’mall muddled up 😉 Can’t wait to read about your adventures here!!

  2. Johanna GGG says:

    how exciting – hope you find time to keep blogging while on your adventures

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks both of you. I think I’ll have time, assuming I have reliable internet. We’ve been investigating food and it looks like I’ll be bringing a suitcase full of dried beans! In the mean time though, there is three months worth of blogging to do!

  3. Connie says:

    Looking forward to reading your blog as you travel to Micronesia. One correction, you have a picture of Palau (Beleu) which is in the geographic region Micronesia, but not the Federated States of Micronesia.
    You’re going to find a lot of imported foods on the main islands, and a lack of accessibility to fresh fruits and vegetables. They are there, you just need to know where to look and be willing to pay. If you can, take some time to go out to the smaller islands where they are much more dependent on subsistence farming and fishing. Speaking of which, I can’t think of where you will get non-animal based protein in Micronesia. The stores on the main islands do carry beans.

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks for your advice about the vegies 🙂
      I’ve updated the photo now, too.

      Re: non-animal protein- we are investigating at the moment what we can and can’t take, to make sure we’re ok. If possible we’ll take some protein powder, maybe some quinoa, and some soy beans to make tofu and tempeh with. We’ll see.

      You sound like you’re pretty familiar with it. Have you visited or lived there?

Leave a Reply

