Philipines, the verdict

When I first started this blog, Mr kept telling me not to do the Philipines because “all the food was crap”. So needless to say, I wasn’t entirely looking forward to it, especially given my Mr has a pretty similar palate to some 8 year-old children I know.

I was happily surprised. I found the varying flavours a treat, and especially liked the garlicy fried rice (sinangag), and extra sour mince (sisig). There were a lot of recipes I had hoped to try but didn’t get around to, such as cheese-based sweets, and kare kare (a stew thing).

While there were  lot of of vegetarian, or easily adaptable dishes on offer, there was also a serious reliance of meat and offal, which might make it hard for vegans to get by generally, without the help of the fabulous mock available here in Melbourne.

The verdict? Tasty, interesting food, which was fun to play with.

 

Next up we head to Italy, and we might stay with it for a while.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tiffany says:

    I enjoyed seeing the wonderful assortment of Filipino food here. I love sinangag, too; it’s one of my favorite ways to eat leftover rice! You’re right, Filipino cuisine tends to be meat-centric–almost all of my grandma’s traditional dishes include meat, if not at least fish sauce–but also not too difficult to prepare in a vegan-friendly manner while still being tasty. 🙂

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks for the comment – I’m glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

