Risotto and arancini

on

Probably my favourite little-food-that-goes-on-trays-at-work-things is arancini (risotto balls). I especially love the ones with something cheesy in the middle.(yes there’s a theme – I like cheesy stuff).

I also love risotto, having discovered it as an easy, cheap and filling meal when I was at uni, and we eat it often now, although it usually has more ingredients now than it did at uni.

Anyway, I’m not posting a recipe, because everyone can make risotto, and mine does not have any special tricks. One vegan note – its nice to add some tofutti or other vegan cream cheese to it at the end to make it extra creamy.

This time around I served up some mushroom risotto (my fave kind) with some home made tomato sauce, for some extra vegetable.

Mushroom Risotto

Hopefully, audience, you feel very special, because I usually just dump it on the plat, rather than making a pretty mound and putting herbs on it 🙂

To make arancini you need day old risotto which has dried out a little, and some cheese or tofu or mushrooms for filling. Predictably, I used Cheezly.

Make a ball of risotto, flatten t, put some filling in the middle, then re-roll around the filling. Then roll in some soy milk and coat with bread crumbs.

I believe you are supposed to deep fry them now. I don’t deep fry things at home, because its a little bit gross. I do shallow fry things in the wok every now and then, such as spring rolls, but its pretty rare, and I always feel yuck later, even though it make for very tasty things.

So, you could deep fry your arancini, or you could shallow fry (I have tried this and it is delicious, although the bread crumbs do soak up a LOT of oil), or you could Bake them, like I do.

Arancini - please excuse the lunch-box picture

It does mean that they don’t turn lovely and golden, but they’re just as melt-in-your-mouth, and much better for you.

Give it a go with your favourite risotto!

Leave a Reply

