Quinoa and some gushy blog love

I’ve been ignoring my own blog lately, in favour of reading some others. So, in a fit of “I-love-it-so-must-share-it-and-you-must-love-it-too”, I figured it was time to share.

Broccoli Hut
A visual tour of the daily eats of an almost nutritionist. This is not a vegan blog (it is vegetarian), but I love love love the foods Caroline makes, and its a good motivator for me to eat more healthily, especially when I’m surrounded by chocolate recipes at the moment!

In particular, check out her superbowl post, for every imaginable hommus variety.

Health Alternatives 2000
A source of nerdy nutrition info. Ok, not a blog, but its lame nerdy “fun”.

Pure Thought
This is an FSM-related fave. Just a blog by someone who has recently moved there. With our impending move, I’ve been craving other’s experiences of Kolonia.

Bodyrock
A home workout “community” site I hadn’t come across before. My god, this woman is fit. Definitely motivating, and making me more than a little envious.

Hoyden About Town
Feminist ranting on local issues. Yay!

Hyperbole and a half
Just hilarious. If you haven’t seen it before, go straight to the post about the alot, followed by this one about being a grown up.

Completely unrelatedly to the above, or the theme of this blog, r, well, anything, I’ve been cooking lots of quinoa lately.

Quinoa with pumpkin and cashews

How do you like your quinoa? Any fave recipes?

I make lots of pretty standard quinoa dishes, like quinoa with vegies, my creamy quinoa bake, and spiced quinoa, but I think this one is a bit special, so I wanted to share.

Raspberry Quinoa Porridge! also known as best breaky ever

Serves 2

Raspberry Quinoa Porridge
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2-1 cup spelt milk (or whatever, I have a thing for spelt at the moment)
  • pinch nutmeg
  • pinch cinnamon
  • 2 tbs agave syrup (or sugar)
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries
  • 2 scoops yoghurt
  • 2 scoops ice-cream (what, who said that?)
  • any chopped fruit you have on hand – i had blueberries
  • pumpkin seeds, for sprinkling (what else do you do with them but sprinkle?)
  1. Cook the quinoa in the water, until beginning to soften.
  2. Add milk, and continue to cook until, well, cooked.
  3. Off the heat. Add raspberries and stir through. They will get melty, fall apart, and make the whole thing bright pink.
  4. Add cinnamon, sugar/agave, and nutmeg.
  5. Pour into two bowls. Add a scoop of yoghurt, followed by a scoop of ice cream, then sprinkle with fruit and seeds.
  6. Enjoy the awesome.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. steph says:

    Yay! I love the alot!

  2. Tina A. says:

    this quinoa recipe looks absolutely delicious. thanks for sharing.

  3. Ecky says:

    That someone in Pohnpei has a name and face now lol! I hope you enjoy the kangkong!

Leave a Reply

