Soursop Sorbet

I had never even heard of soursop before coming here. Or, I had, but I thought it was some sort of British slang for a craky old man or similar, like “Mr Crankpanterson is an old soursop”.

Turns out, soursop is a fruit. A tasty, sour, creamy fruit, that looks like this:

Soursop, image borrowed from http://davesgarden.com/guides/articles/view/221/

I first encountered it on a very hot afternoon at a restaurant here called the Tattooed Irishman, but more commonly referred to as “The Village” after the hotel it is attached to.

It was in the form of sorbet, and it was one of the strangest things I have ever tasted; very sour, sweet, and with an odd after taste that reminded me of handcream. Mr doesn’t taste the handcream, and a friend here didn’t think  it had an odd taste until after I suggested it.I’ve even read conjecture that it tastes like onions, but I didn’t get that. So, if you’ve ever tried soursop, please leave a comment on what you think it tastes like.

(Oh, by the way, yes I did just say there was vegan sorbet available in Pohnpei, FSM. Hell yeah!).

I have since been eyeing the big, spiky, green fruit off at the markets, and bought one with the help of a very friendly staff member, who picked a good one for me. Unfortunately I opened it too soon and it was hard as rock, and then I left it for a little while and it went off while I was trying to figure out if it was ripe yet (things ripen so quickly here, that you never buy anything already ripe).

So, a few weeks later, I tried again, this time with more success. When I cut into it it was the right consistency, but it was very, very sour.

So, I added some sugar, mashed, stuck it in the freezer and voila! we have been enjoying soursop sorbet ever since. It is very easy, but I’ll put the recipe in anyway.

Soursop Sorbet

Vegan Soursop Sorbet

  • 1 ripe soursop
  • 1/2 cup white sugar (or more/less depending on sweetness of fruit)
  • 1/2 cup water
  1. Chop the soursop, and remove peel and all seeds. Be alert, as it is a sneaky fruit with hidden seeds as well as the obvious ones. I suggest squishing pieces in your fingers, as this make the seeds pop out. Set aside.
  2. In a small saucepan add water and sugar and stir over medium heat until dissolved. (it doesn’t need to boil). Set aside to cool.
  3. Add soursop and sugar water to a blender (or mixing bowl with stick-blender) and blend until well combined.
  4. Freeze in whatever container is handy. Mush with a fork every 2 hours or so.
  5. When ready to eat, set the sorbet on the bench for about 5 minutes to soften, then serve. (it may take longer in melbourne and other cold climates).
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Ecky says:

    LOL just like Sam, he doesn’t like the taste of soursap! You can just eat it like that tho, no need to add anything or make sorbet, it’s sooo tasty!.

    Btw, I have recipe for pineapple sorbet and for sure it’s vegan!

    1. Keira says:

      Wow, pineapple sorbet sounds great! Sky liked the soursop on the island, but I didn’t have any… not sure if the one we had was not ripe enough?

  2. Ecky says:

    Tried to call you couple of times but didn’t go thru, I forgot your land phone number. For pineapple you have to wait until it turns yellow not green as available in the market. The last time I made pineapple sorbet I mixed real fruit (just one fruit from my garden) and canned fruit because at that time I can’t find the fruit everywhere.

    Let’s arrange dinner for recipe & movie/TV series exchange before I leave next week.

    1. Keira says:

      That’s weird about the phone, but we do get really bad reception at our place! Landline is 320 1972. I’ll call you from mine to set it up. Sounds perfect 🙂

  3. jUls says:

    🙂 nice post!..hehe..how is it come to Pohnpei??..or How is it introduce to Micronesia?..hehe..i have an assignment of Soursop but don’t know where its come from….

    1. Keira says:

      Hi there,

      I don’t know anything at all abut how soursop came to Pohnpei. I assume ti got there by boat, with some people, but I wouldn’t have a clue about when.

Leave a Reply

