Greek Week

Okay, so this is another of the countries we culinarily visited while I was busy packing up our house in Melbourne. In fact, I only had time to make two days worth of Greek food and this just isn’t enough, especially for a cuisine with so much linking it to food in Melbourne, so I will be revisiting Greece on the blog in the future. I will introduce Greece properly at that time.

For now, some photos and links for recipes.

Of course, one of the first things I knew I had to make for Greek week was a salad. A Greek salad, of course. It happened to be very well timed – my garden was producing copious amounts of lovely, tasty, brightly coloured mini tomatoes, crisp green capsicum and glossy, leafy greens. I added kalamata olives, cucumber and chickpeas, and left out the cheese. Yum.

Vegan Greek Salad

Next up was stuffed capsicums. Not the green ones from my garden this time, but some pretty yellow ones I picked up at the Preston Market. I stuffed them with herbed rice (parsley, thyme, oregano, sultanas, pine nuts and almonds) and baked them.

Beautiful stuffed yellow capsicum
All plated up with herbed rice

The next day we were heading off on a road trip to see some family for the last time before we set off on our big adventure (the adventure we’re currently on). I decided keep or road food on-theme, and made some spanakopita triangles and baklava, and cheated by buying some dolmades from the supermarket.

Spanakopita

I perused a number of recipes for Spanakopita, then made up my own. The amounts are gone from my memory though, so a brief description will have to do.

You will need:

  • Filo pastry
  • lots and lots of fresh spinach
  • oil
  • an onion, diced
  • fresh parsley, chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • vegan cheese, crumbled
  • tofu (hard), crumbled
  • nutmeg
  • soy milk for brushing
  1. Pre-heat the oven to (probably) around 180 celsius. Defrost filo if required
  2. Chop and steam the spinach.Drain it, squeezing out excess water, and put aside.
  3. Saute the chopped onion in a little olive oil.
  4. Remove from heat. Add drained spinach, chopped parsley,crumbled tofu and vegan cheese. Mix loosely.
  5. Taste, and add salt, pepper and nutmeg as desired (The nutmeg is my addition, as I am a big big fan, feel free to leave it out).
  6. Peel off a few filo sheets as one. Fill with the spinach mixture and seal the edges with a little water, to make a triangle shape. Repeat with remaining filling
  7. Brush the tops of the triangles with a little soy milk and bake until lightly browned.
  8. Allow to cool a little before serving. If you are going to travel with them, allow to cool completely before putting them in a container (or they get soggy).
Melty, wonderful baklava

I was so impressed with how easy and fabulous the baklava turned out to be. I used this recipe, and substituted vegan margarine for the butter. Easy as.

Have Greek food, will travel

We were very satisfied travelers, munching on spanakopita and dolmades and baklava at the truck stop. This will definitely be repeated.

Links

http://rawvegangreece.blogspot.com/  – as it suggestes, this is a blog about a Greek raw vegan. Awesome.

http://www.thisdishisvegetarian.com/2011/03/1408greek-vegetarian-couple-goes-to.html – a story about a Greek couple being refused an adoption due to their vegetarianism.

Also, I know someone f who is a Planet VeGMeL recently made vegan spanakopita, but for the life of me I can’t find the recipe now… any help?


 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Casey says:

    AH! I’ve always wanted to try Baklava but have been too scared, it looks so difficult!!

    1. Keira says:

      Its funny, I thought so too, but its actually quite easy. Just mix sugar and nuts, layer with filo, cover in syrup and bake.

  2. Kelly Berry says:

    May I ask, for the filo pastry in the spinach pie, do you spread oil in between the layers? Often I found them too greasy but in your recipe I didn’t see that you did it, so I want to ask if it works without the oil?

    1. Keira says:

      I don’t always do that. Usually, I use a little bit of spray olive oil, between every third sheet or so, and a little on the outside of the finished pie.

Leave a Reply

