Merry Bloggy Christmas!

Merry Bloggy Christmas!

Roast meats, ham, potatoes, roasted vegetables, gravy, cake and pudding – we all know what the North Americans and the British eat at Christmas. But what about everyone else?

Because I have time now, and because I keep getting search terms like “What do they eat in Australia for Christmas” on my stats, I’ve decided to set my own little 9 days of Vegan Christmas Blog Theme going (not 12, because I am too late, and I won’t have reliable internet after the 26th).

To have it in keeping with this blog’s theme, I intend to look at some interesting (to me) traditional Christmas foods from a round the world. I clearly don’t have time to cover everyone, but maybe if I miss your country (or a tradition that interests you) I’ll get to it another year.

To start off with, let’s test your Christmas traditions knowledge.

Which country would you hail from if you:

1)    Hide Brooms on Christmas Eve
2)    Have small figurines of people defecating in your nativity scene.
3)    Watch a roaring fire on TV (for 24 hours) instead of having a real one.
4)    Have a witch delivering the presents instead of/as well as an old dude (albeit not at Christmas).
5)    Made a wish when it was your turn to stir the Christmas pudding.
6)    Hang a (plastic) spider web on the Christmas tree.
7)    Join a big march made up mostly of children wearing white on Christmas day.
8)    Carry a horse’s skull on a pole around your town.

I’ll pop the answers up tomorrow, but leave yours in the comments if you want.

Sadly there is no reward for right answers unless you count self satisfaction 🙂

So, what are your Christmas traditions? If you’re not religious, do you celebrate Christmas at all?

I recognise that the majority of people in the world do not celebrate Christmas, and that groups celebrate other things at this time of year, such as Hanukha, Kwanzaa, and the New Year, and if you do, I’d love to hear about it.  My focus is on Christmas mainly because its what I know, and I’m interested in the different ways it is celebrated, especially as many people celebrate it even though they have no Christian beliefs.

My little family (Mr and I) are devout atheists, and in my big family there is a little more atheism, a lot of agnosticism, spiritualism and such, but only a little actual Christianity, and yet we still do presents and food and family. Some habits die hard, especially habits involving delicious cake.

Leave a Reply

