Lemon Cake II: the “healthy” version

Last night we had some friends over for dinner who are of the low fat, considered nutrition mindset. Despite this, I knew I couldn’t help myself but to make a dessert. Out of lemons, because, sooooo many lemons.

I used almond meal again and spelt again, added some polenta, removed the lemon juice, and swapped the oil and tofu for a little sour cream (vegan of course), and the sugar for agave syrup. Instead of icing the cake, I had a syrup to go with it.

The result was fabulous. Mr mentioned that he though it was a “little on the grainy side” but I thought it was fine, and it got good reviews from the adults and kids alike. It was dense, but not fudgey – I think it would be best eaten within 2 or 3 days of baking.

I got shy, and didn’t take a photo, so you’ll just have to use your imagination.

Low-Fat Vegan Lemon Cake

  • 2/3 cup almond meal
  • 1 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1/2 cup polenta
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • zest of two large lemons
  • 3 Tbs raw sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/3 cup agave syrup
  • 1/4 cup vegan sour cream (you could use yoghurt)
  • around 1/2 cup almond milk (I got sloppy with the measuring here, sorry, so it could have been more)

topping

  • juice of two lemons
  • 2 tbs raw sugar
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • up to 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup flaked almonds
  1. Pre-heat oven to 170 degrees celsius, line and grease a round cake tin.
  2. In a large bowl mix the dry ingredients together well.
  3. Add the agave, zest, vanilla, and sour cream, and beat until just combined.
  4. Slowly add milk, beating with a wooden spoon until a cake batter consistency is reached. Sorry I can’t be more specific – thicker than pancake batter, thinner than muffin batter.
  5. Pour the batter into the cake pan, and bake for around 35 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean.
  6. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn out and cool completely on a rack.
  7. For the topping: in a small saucepan mix the juice, sugar an icing sugar together until there are no lumps. Add hot water, a little at a time, stirring. I used about 3 tbs. Over high heat bring to the boil and stir until the mixture thickens into a syrup. Pour 1/3 of the syrup onto the cake while the syrup is warm and he cake is cooling. Scatter the almonds on top of the cake, and reserve the rest of the syrup for serving. Reserving the syrup meant that sweet-tooths (Mr and I) could have at it with the sugar, but others could be more conservative.

I also made pasta out of spelt and he nettle that is overtaking my veggie garden. I didn’t get a photo of that, either, nor did I measure, but watch out for nettle recipes in a future post.

Leave a Reply

