The ghost of menus past

I’ve covered around 25 cuisines on this blog now, and one of the best things that has come of it is that the food we eat on a regular basis has changed (and gotten much better!).

Despite incidences of my cooking becoming increasingly rare since I started working again and Mr stopped, there are particular foods that I just keep coming back to when I do get around to cooking. Lately these constants have been Georgian, Turkish and Italian. Pizza, kidney beans, walnuts and tahini replacing the dahl and stir fry dinners of yesteryear.

All this revisiting means I’ve had the chance to perfect some recipes which didn’t work out that well on the first go, so I decided it was time to repost them.

Turkish Brekky

Ok, so this isn’t exactly a cooked meal, but it was fun. While we were in Turkey breakfast was usually offered as a buffet featuring cucumber, tomatoes, cheese, olives and bread, along with simit and tahini with grape molasses (which tastes like caramel). I mocked up a vegan version using agave instead of grape molasses, and using a bit of cheezly. Tasty, healthy brekky!

Next up is the Georgian feast we prepared for some friends who visited recently-ish. It was a little while ago, when our garden was still overflowing with winter crop, so we pulled out all of this:

Garden haul 1#: silverbeet, beetroot, parsnip, cauliflower, cabbage, snow peas, spring onion and kale.

and turned it into this:

Pkhali and eggplant with walnut

… as well as kidney bean salad (lobio), ajap sandal (eggplant and tomato dish), pilaf with cabbage, and fried potatoes, and mini spanakopita which I took to work for Veggie Club.

The pkhali and the eggplant with walnuts were both really yummy and so much better than my first disastrous attempt at imitating Georgian walnut paste. I’ve been using this recipe from Georgian Taste, however I have included a few cashews to make it even creamier, I have left out some of the garlic in deference to Mr, and I used beetroot this time instead of spinach.

For the eggplant and walnut paste I followed the recipe for pkhali, but left out the spinach altogether. I then fried some strips of eggplant and wrapped them around tablespoonfuls of the walnut paste. Yum.

I also made my first attempt at creating a vegan khachapuri, which is a totally delicious looking, totally un-vegan Georgian cheese bread. It turned out brilliantly, and though it is time consuming to make, I think it will have to go on the “again, again!” list.

I scoured the web for recipes and ended up using a mix of this recipe at food.com and this recipe at Nami Nami, but of course it needed tweaking to veganise.

Slice of vegan imureli khachapuri

Vegan Khachapuri

Makes 2 loaves

For the dough:

  • 250ml soy milk
  • 3tbs margarine, melted
  • 14g instant yeast
  • a pinch of salt
  • pinch baking soda
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 3 1/4 cups plain flour

For the cheese filling:

  • 2 cups cheezly, mozzarella flavour, mashed with a fork
  • 1/2 cup Vegusto vegan cheese, strong flavour, grated
  • 100g silken boxed tofu, mashed with a fork
  • 1 tbs rice flour, whisked with 1/4 cup  soy milk
  • 1 Tbs plain flour
  • 2 Tbs vegan margarine
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • pinch of nutmeg (just because I ave this thing about nutmeg and cheese – you could leave it out)

Follow the directions as per the Food.com recipe, although only warm the soy milk, don’t scald it.

 

I have no new Italian recipes to share, but I didn’t want to post yet another picture f yet another haul from our garden that made it into a meal – because I’m so amazed at how well this whole growing-our-own-food business is going 🙂

Garden haul #2: spring onions, herbs snow peas, lettuce and broad beans.
Dinner from the garden: garden salad, pizza (herbs from the garden and mushrooms from our mushroom box), and broad beans with vegan facon.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy says:

    Wow, your garden looks amazing! And grape molasses sounds heavenly, especially in combination with tahini.

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks 🙂 I think you buy grape molases at Al Alamy in coburg if you’re keen to give it a try – pretty tasty.

      1. Cindy says:

        Thanks for the tip! I’ll try to keep an eye out for it.

  2. Cate says:

    What a wonderful garden, I’ve so enjoyed reading your recipes! Are you renting by any chance? Would love you write an article about you for our upcoming Rental Sweet Rental series at Green Renters 🙂

    1. Keira says:

      Hi there,

      thanks :). Yup, we are renting. We were just really lucky to move in to a place with an organised gardening space. Happy to be part of the series if you’d like.

  3. Jordon Koziak says:

    Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this article together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

