Bobotie and Milk Tart, several weeks later (oops)

As per my menu plan, I made vegan versions of Bobotie and Milk Tart several weeks ago. And then I forgot all about the blog and moved on to other things like Coursera and True Blood and Christmas. Oops!

Bobotie is sort of like shepherds pie, except it has an eggy-custard layer instead of a mashed potato layer, and the mince is spiced with curry. I followed the recipe from SA Promo here, however I substituted some cooked lentils and some broken up vegan burgers for the mince, and made a white sauce with a a little extra silken tofu for the topping. There is also a vegan recipe you could follow over at veggie.buntch.net.

IMG_6510
Vegan bobotie just out of the oven
Vegan bobotie
Vegan bobotie

The bobotie made for a satisfying, tasty meal, but I wasn’t super keen on the sweet+curry thing. I know that  sweet and savoury tango in most of the cuisines of the world but still I’m not entirely convinced.

I served the bobotie up with yellow rice (using this recipe) and some easy tomato salad.

Yellow rice and tomato salad
Yellow rice and tomato salad

I also had a shot at creating a vegan milk tart. I used pretty much every damn vegan custard-replacement in the book, and was delighted with the results. I was less delighted with the pictures, but I did what I could in my dark house with my little camera.

Vegan milk Tart (milktert)
Baked vegan milk Tart (milktert)

Short bread base

  • ½ cup spelt flour
  • ½ cup rice flour
  • ¼ cup plain flour
  • 1/3 cup icing mixture
  • ¾ vegan margarine
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.
  2. In a large mixing bowl mix the flours and icing mixture together until well combined.
  3. Rub the margarine in until the mixture resembles a crumbly dough.
  4. Press the dough into a pie plate or tart dish and bake for 15 minutes.
  5. Allow to cool.

Filling

(This made too much for just the pie, and I had an extra cup of just filling – if you’re playing along at home, only work to about 2/3 of this recipe)

  • 1/3 cup sago (or seed tapioca)
  • a litre of water to the boil
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbs agar agar powder
  • 1 1.3 cup bonsoy soy milk (in my eyes it’s the only brand that still tastes decent after boiling)
  • 1/2 cup coconut cream
  • 2 Tbs agave
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • nutmeg and icing sugar, for dusting
  1. In a large saucepan bring the water to the boil and add the sago. Cook until the sago is just translucent and drain and set aside.
  2. In another saucepan stir the bonsoy, sugar and agar agar powder over the heat until the bonsoy starts to boil. Reduce heat and simmer for five minutes, stirring frequently.
  3. Remove from heat and quickly stir the sago, coconut cream,  agave and vanilla into the milk and agar mixture.

For an uncooked Tart

  1. For an unbaked tart, pour the mixture into the cooled tart shell and refrigerate for several hours.
  2. Dust with icing sugar and nutmeg before serving.

For a baked Tart

  1. For a baked tart, pour the filling into the tart shell and dust with icing sugar and nutmeg
  2. Put a tray under the pis dish to catch any filling that bubbles over, and bake at 180 degrees celsius for 20 minutes.
  3. After baking, grill for 4 minutes or until brown on top.
  4. Allow to cool completely before serving.

 

As it happens this may be where I leave South Africa, for now anyways, because I have too many exciting Christmas related posts to write!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

