Carrot-curry noodle soup

on

I am aware that carrots are good for me, and I like them well-enough, but they;ve never been my favourite to cook with.

I don’t know if it’s because I was ruined for all future carrotage as a child by my mum’s honey carrots, or if it’s because I like to make pretty food, and orange doesn’t go with much. In any case, I seem only to cook carrots in middle-eastern meals, or as a steamed vegetable in versions of tired, last-minute vegan “meat and three veg” adaptions.

But tonight, inspiration struck. I had a hankering for laksa, and some guilt over neglected carrots sitting in the bottom of the fridge, with several more in today’s vegbox. These themes combined to make carrot-based laksa!

It was easy, and a hige hit. I will definitely be using carrots this way again. If your kids like things slightly spicy, this might be a good way to slip some extra vitamin A into them.

The recipe follows. As with all my recipes, beware of measurements; mine are of a very approximate nature.IMG_2196

 

Vegan Carrot Laksa-style soup

Makes enough for 4 hungry adults.

  • 4 medium-sized carrots, diced
  • 2 tbs grated ginger
  • 1 can of coconut cream (or most of one, left over from last night)
  • 2 small potatoes, diced
  • 1.5 cups diced butternut pumpkin
  • 1 bushell(?) of noodles (I used soba)
  • 1 tbs canola oil
  • 1 large onion, fine dice
  • 1 large chilli, fine dice (ignore that there are three in the picture. I deseeded, you don’t need to if you like it hot.)
  • 2 tbs vegan laksa paste (you could use any curry paste)
  • 2 tsp massel chicken-style stock
  • 3 – 5 cups water
  • 300g silken tofu (you could use firm instead)
  1. Blend the carrots, ginger and coconut cream until smooth. Set aside.
  2. Boil the potatoes, pumpkin and noodles until just cooked. Drain and set aside.
  3. Fry the onion and chilli in the canola oil until soft
  4. Add the carrot-coconut mixture, stock powder, laksa paste and 3 cups of water. Bring to the boil.
  5. Return to simmer and add noodles, potato and pumpkin.
  6. Add water if yours is too thick – I have no idea how much I ended up using.
  7. Divide the tofu into bowls. spoon noodles and vegetables over, then the soup.
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy says:

    Nice to see you back here! And on a topic that’s highly relevant to me, since we get CERES vege box deliveries too. 🙂

    1. Keira says:

      Hi! Yeah, I love the veg box.

  2. Looks delicious 😊 thanks for sharing.

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks! Happy to share 🙂

Leave a Reply

