VegBox August 30 2016

I still have some vegetables left over from last week’s box, so I ordered a smaller box than usual. It also gave me a chance to try the new Asian Veg Box that CERES stared offering this week.

IMG_2191

In it I found:

  • Ginger
  • Chillies
  • Pak Choi
  • Bok Choy
  • Brocollini
  • Squash
  • Lime
  • Mushrooms
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Snow peas

I also ordered a fruit box this week, rather than just bits and pieces, because we have a house guest.

It had bananas, apples, pears, oranges, mandarins (satsumas), tangelos, kiwifruit, and to my great surprise, strawberries and avocado. Getting organic strawberries at all, and avocados in this season, is a huge win.

In fact, I bought some avocados on special during the week, and when I added the box offerings, we have eight of them in the fruit bowl. Eight! We are basically millionaires now.

I rarely stick to my plan for the week, so think of this more as a guide, but I thought I might make:

  • carrot curry laksa-style soup
  • apple crumble
  • a LOT of avocado toast
  • pad thai and greens
  • fried rice
  • gnocchi and kale (I have some from last week) and
  • probably some other foods.

 

Leave a Reply

