Kale and pumpkin gnocchi

on

This recipe is going to be very approximate. You are forewarned.

I like kale. I don’t love it, I don’t have any kale™ merchanidse, I don’t feel the need to have pictures of kale on my clothes, and I don’t eat it in smoothies (partly because it tastes grassy, and partly because too much raw kale is toxic).

But I do like kale, and I especially like it with starchy carbs like pasta or potatoes.

So tonight’s dinner made use of both: kale with gnocchi and pumpkin.

Astute readers may notice that I didn’t get kale or pumpkin in my veg box this week. I had them leftover from last week. Don’t get paranoid and think I’m playing with your mind.

In unmeasured amounts, the dish included:IMG_2199

  • olive oil
  • onion
  • garlic
  • pumpkin
  • veggie sausages
  • kale
  • salt
  • chilli flakes
  • nutmeg
  • garlic powder
  • pine nuts
  • pumpkin seeds
  • gnocchi, and
  • lemon zest

The pea shoots are in the pic because I thought I’d use them. Spoiler: I didn’t use them.

As far as method goes, this one’s simple. I cooked the ingredients, in a pan, adding one to the next in the order listed above. You know, until they were cooked. The only exceptions were the gnocchi, which I boiled, and the lemon zest, which I put on after the meal was plated and I thought it was a little bland.

Oh, and I toasted the pine nuts and pumpkin seeds before throwing them in, because I’m fancy like that (and also read somewhere that you need to toast them to make some of the micronutrients available).

Quick, nutritious and fancy.

 

Leave a Reply

