Birthday cake: vegan persian love cake

on

It was my birthday recently, and I went out to my favourite place, Moroccan Soup Bar.

The birthday cake needed to be special and gluten-free. I considered mud cake, or coconut cake, and lemon cake, but in the end I settled on a heavily bastardised version of what I’ve seen called Persian Love Cake.

As it happens, and in keeping with the new theme of the blog, the recipe I started from was this one, at CERES.

img_2242

I changed the ingredients to veganise is and ensure gluten-freedom. I also seriously beefed-up the spices, and removed a little of the sugar. My ingredients were:

  •  1.3 cup almond meal
  •  1.3 cup polenta
  • 250g Kingland greek-style soy yoghurt
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 120 g vegan margarine
  • 2 tbs gluten-free cornflour (that’s cornstarch, Americans) in 1/3 cup water
  • lots (sorry, didn’t measure) of nutmeg, cardamon, cinnamon, and allspice

Mine followed the same basic method as the CERES recipe, so I won’t go into detail. It’s just the basics – pre-heat, mix, bake, cool. I did make two small changes: I added rosewater syrup and poured it onto the cake while he cake was warm, and I added a simple white icing. I think it could be nice without the syrup, but then I would add a lot of rosewater to the icing.

I topped mine with:

  • thin white icing (gluten-free icing mixture mixed with a tiny bit of water)
  • chopped pistachios and
  • rose petals

I had some concerns for the consistency, as it took a long time to firm up. But I needn’t have worried. It turned out beautifully. It was delicious warm and cold, with the syrup and without.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Mumma says:

    That looks yum!

    1. Keira says:

      Thanks, it really was 🙂

  2. Ooo its looks pretty! & I love the sound of LOVE cake 😀

    1. Keira says:

      I love the name too, it sounds divine

  3. Cindy says:

    What a beautiful cake! A belated happy birthday to you.

    1. Keira says:

      Why thank you 🙂

      1. Cindy says:

        I gave this cake a go myself for a vegan potluck wedding very soon afterwards – it was great, thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

