Pecan Pie

Do you love pecan pie? Do you love it when people take foods that matter to you, and then try to make them without ever having read a recipe or even eaten the food? Then you’ll love this!

I’ve always looked at pecan pie and drooled, but I’ve never actually had any. Mostly that’s a function of living in Australia, so far from pecans and canned pumpkin and pumpkin-spice everything (what spice even is a pumpkin?). But it’s also because when faced with a choice of dessert, I nearly always choose chocolate, caramel or peanut butter.

But last night I was feeling adventurous and recalled a recently purchased bag of pecans, so I had a crack.

I wanted my pie to fill me up and include some fibre and protein, and couldn’t be bothered googling (and using the laptop in the kitchen) so I decided to through caution to the wind and DIY that shit.

Before you get to the recipe, I will answer the question you’re going to form upon reading it: Yes, I did decide to just put pecans in every layer of the pie because I don’t know where they’re supposed to go.

The result was pretty great. Was it like the pecan pie of so many movies, comics, and books? I have no idea. Was it tasty? Yes!

I didn’t get a photo before we ate most of it, but I got one of the piece I had for breakfast.

Pecan pie

Base

  • 2/3 cup quinoa flakes
  • 2/3 cup pecans
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup dessicated coconut
  • 1 tsp ginger powder
  • 1/4 cup margarine
  • 1/4 cup rice malt syrup
  • spray oil or other means of oiling tart/pie plate

Filling

  • 2/3 cup pecans
  • 1/4 cup custard powder
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar

Plus more pecans for the top

Base method

0. oil the pie plate and pre-heat oven to 180 celsius
1. put dry ingredients into food processor. Blitz until crumbly.
2. add margarines and rice malt. Blitz until combined.
3. press mixture into pie plate evenly (i like to make a pie with sides, but it’s up to you)
4. bake for 10 minutes

Filling method

5. in a blender (or with a stick blender, like I do) blend the pecans, custard powder and coconut milk
6. transfer to small saucepan, add the sugars, and stir constantly over heat until thickened to the consistency of custard, around 5 minutes (note on heat: you want it cooking, but not boiling so fast that it burns or the bubbles burst and splash you – ouch!)
7. once thickened, take it off the heat and pour it into the pie shell
8. decorate the pie with more pecans
9. return to oven and bake for 15 minutes.

Enjoy warm or cold (I can vouch for both)

 

Leave a Reply

