Pap and Sauce

My first foray into South African cuisine was to attempt making Pap ad Sous. Pap is a dish of maize, like ugali (which I tried many moons ago when this blog looked at Tanzania, but was not very impressed with). Sous is a tomato sauce that goes with it.

This time it turned out better, although we’re still not huge fans at the Roundtheworldvegan household. I followed this recipe from Rainbow Cooking, but I used polenta meal as I don’t have any maize meal. The texture was much nicer than the ugali, although I think mine was a little thicker than the recipe was aiming for, so if I make it again I’ll add more liquid.

For the sous I followed this recipe from Welmoed Wines loosely, but made a few changes because I’m out of a few things. I have since come across this recipe from Capetown Magazine, which looks divine.

I’ve read that pap and sous can be served up on its own, but is often accompanied by sausages, or borewors. We had the pap and sauce with some Tofurky sausages which Mr brought back from a recent work trip to Hawaii (some guys get all the fun!).

It was pretty tasty comfort food, and quick to make too. Two thumbs up South Africa!

Keira’s vegan tomato sauce, loosely South African style

serves 2

  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 400g can whole tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 tbs tomato paste
  • 3 tbs vinegar
  • 1 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp English mustard
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  1. Fry the onion in a little olive oil, until soft.
  2. Add all other ingredients and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Blend if there are big chunks.
  4. Serve with pap and sausages.

Leave a comment